British Fantasy Society (logo)The winners for the 2018 British Fantasy Awards were announced today! Here is the list of the winners and nominees that made it this year’s short list. If you’ve not read everyone on this list, we suggest you check them out. You won’t be disappointed!

Best Anthology

* New Fears, ed. Mark Morris (Titan Books) *

2084, ed. George Sandison (Unsung Stories)
Dark Satanic Mills: Great British Horror Book 2, ed. Steve Shaw (Black Shuck Books)
Imposter Syndrome, ed. James Everington & Dan Howarth (Dark Minds Press)
Pacific Monsters, ed. Margret Helgadottir (Fox Spirit)

Best Artist

* Jeffrey Alan Love *

Ben Baldwin
Victo Ngai
Daniele Sera
Sophie E Tallis
Sana Takeda

Best Audio

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman, adapted by Dirk Maggs for Radio 4 *

Brave New Words podcast (Ed Fortune and Starburst Magazine)
Breaking the Glass Slipper podcast (Lucy Hounsom, Charlotte Bond & Megan Leigh)
Ivory Towers by Richard H Brooks, directed by Karim Kronfli for 11th Hour Audio Productions
PseudoPod podcast (Alasdair Stuart and Escape Artists)
Tea & Jeopardy podcast (Emma & Peter Newman)

Best Collection

Strange Weather by Joe Hill (Gollancz) *

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman (Bloomsbury)
Tanith by Choice by Tanith Lee (Newcon Press)
Tender: Stories by Sofia Samatar (Small Beer Press)
You Will Grow Into Them by Malcolm Devlin (Unsung Stories)

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

* Monstress, Vol. 2, by Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda (Image) *

Bitch Planet Vol 2: President Bitch by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Taki Soma & Valentine de Landro (Image)
Grim & Bold by Joshua Cornah (Kristell Ink)
Tomorrow by Jack Lothian & Garry Mac (BHP Comics)
The Wicked + The Divine Vol 5: Imperial Phase Part 1 by Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie (Image)

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

* The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams (Headline) *

Age of Assassins by RJ Barker (Orbit)
The Court of Broken Knives by Anna Smith Spark (HarperVoyager)
Under the Pendulum Sun by Jeanette Ng (Angry Robot)

Best Film / Television Production

Get Out by Jordan Peele (Universal Pictures) *

Black Mirror, Series 4 by Charlie Brooker (Netflix)
The Good Place, Season 1 by Michael Schur (Netflix)
Star Wars: The Last Jedi by Rian Johnson (Lucasfilm)
Stranger Things, Season 2 by Matt & Ross Duffer (Netflix)
Twin Peaks: the Return by Mark Frost & David Lynch (Sky Atlantic)
Wonder Woman by Zack Snyder, Allan Heinberg & Jason Fuchs (Warner Bros.)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

The Changeling by Victor LaValle (Spiegel & Grau) *

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough (Harper Collins)
The Boy on the Bridge by MR Carey (Orbit)
The Crow Garden by Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher Books)
Relics by Tim Lebbon (Titan Books)

Best Independent Press

* Unsung Stories *

Fox Spirit
Grimbold Books
Newcon Press
Salt Publishing

Best Magazine / Periodical

* Shoreline of Infinity, ed. Noel Chidwick *

Black Static, ed. Andy Cox (TTA Press)
Gingernuts of Horror, ed. Jim Mcleod
Grimdark Magazine, ed. Adrian Collins
Interzone, ed. Andy Cox (TTA Press)

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J Bounds Award)

* Jeanette Ng, for Under the Pendulum Sun (Angry Robot) *

RJ Barker, for Age of Assassins (Orbit)
SA Chakraborty, for The City of Brass (HarperVoyager)
Ed McDonald, for Blackwing (Orion)
Anna Smith Spark, for The Court of Broken Knives (HarperVoyager)

Best Non-Fiction

* Gender Identity and Sexuality in Science Fiction and Fantasy, ed. FT Barbini (Luna Press) *

Gingernuts of Horror, ed. Jim Mcleod
Luminescent Threads, ed. Alexandra Pierce & Mimi Mondal (12th Planet Press)
No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters by Ursula K Le Guin (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Paperbacks from Hell: The Twisted History of 70s and 80s Horror Fiction by Grady Hendrix (Quirk)
Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me by Maura McHugh (Electric Dreamhouse Press)

Best Novella

* Passing Strange by Ellen Klages ( *

Brother’s Ruin by Emma Newman (
Cottingley by Alison Littlewood (Newcon Press)
The Murders of Molly Southbourne by Tade Thompson (
Naming the Bones by Laura Mauro (Dark Minds Press)
A Pocketful of Crows by Joanne Harris (Gollancz)

Best Short Story

* “Looking for Laika” by Laura Mauro (in Interzone #273) (TTA Press) *

“The Anniversary” by Ruth EJ Booth (in Black Static #61) (TTA Press)
“Four Abstracts” by Nina Allan (in New Fears) (Titan Books)
“Illumination” by Joanne Hall (in Book of Dragons) (Kristell Ink)
“The Little Gift” by Stephen Volk (PS Publishing)
“Shepherd’s Business” by Stephen Gallagher (in New Fears) (Titan Books)

The Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award)

* N K Jemisin *

Congratulations to all the winners!


By Jennie Ivins

Jennie is the Editor of Fantasy-Faction. She lives with her math loving husband and their three autistic boys (one set of twins & one singleton). In-between her online life and being a stay-at-home mom, she is writing her first fantasy series. She also enjoys photography, art, cooking, computers, science, history, and anything else shiny that happens across her field of vision. You can find her on Twitter @autumn2may.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.