Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb (spoiler free)
 

Fool’s Assassin

Spoiler Free Review

 
The Avengers: Age of Ultron Trailer
 

The Avengers: Age of Ultron

Trailer Released

 
On The Trail Of Evil – A Look At Villainous Main Characters
 

On The Trail Of Evil

Article

 

Browsing all articles by Overlord.

The Avengers: Age of Ultron Trailer

The Avengers: Age of Ultron Trailer 

Well, here it is, the trailer we’ve all been waiting almost 2 years for has finally arrived a few days earlier than planned (due to a leak). That movie is, of course, The Avengers: Age of Ultron. With S.H.I.E.L.D. destroyed and the Avengers needing a hiatus from stopping threats, Tony Stark attempts to jumpstart a […]

Continue reading...

Assassin’s Apprentice FREE on UK Kindle

Assassin’s Apprentice FREE on UK Kindle 

Someone somewhere is feeling generous, because right now Assassin’s Apprentice by Robinh Hobb is completely free on the Amazon Kindle in the UK. So far no word on why (that I can find), but we’re presuming it is just to turn even more readers towards Hobb’s books and, especially her new series – that begins with […]

Continue reading...

Learn Dothraki on your Iphone

Learn Dothraki on your Iphone 

You’ve got a while until season 5 of A Game of Thrones starts, so perhaps you are looking for something to do in order to kill the time? Something productive, that will come in useful in the near  future (so long as that future includes heading to a nomadic land full of warriors), perhaps then it […]

Continue reading...

Mortal Instruments not right for Box Office, but TV…?

Mortal Instruments not right for Box Office, but TV…? 

Did any of you see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie? It was supposed to be a movie that would pick up a fan base along the same lines of Twilight or The Hunger Games, but instead bombed in the same way that The Golden Compass did in 2007. If you didn’t see it, it’s […]

Continue reading...

The Providence of Fire – UK Cover Revealed

Tor UK have released the cover for Brian Staveley’s upcoming The Providence of Fire. Before we show it you, though, here’s the blurb accompanied by the US cover (for comparison in just a moment). Brian Staveley’s Providence of Fire, the second novel in the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, a gripping new epic fantasy series in […]

Continue reading...

Good news: Angry Robot here to stay.

It has been a pretty scary few months for fans of Science-Fiction and Fantasy imprint Angry Robot. Earlier this year news surfaced that the publisher’s owners were going through tough times and as a result ended up dropping their Strange Chemistry imprint – which published a vast array of young adult and young adult fantasy […]

Continue reading...

Lev Grossman vs Mainstream Television

Lev Grossman vs Mainstream Television 

Sometimes, writing for Fantasy-Faction, I forget the extent to which the mainstream media looks down their nose at Fantasy fiction. Although George R.R. Martin’s recent success has opened a number of doors for fantasy authors in recent years, I’m sure that any Press Officer from any publishing house will tell you it remains damned difficult […]

Continue reading...

The Liar’s Key – early US/UK cover preview

The Liar’s Key – early US/UK cover preview 

Mark Lawrence’s The Broken Empire trilogy won awards not only for its poetic prose and boundary-pushing story, but also for its exceptional cover art. Mark has always offered up his cover designer, Jason Chan, a lot of praise and, being the good guy that he is, helped promote the artist wherever he can – there seems to be […]

Continue reading...

Interview with V.E. Schwab

Interview with V.E. Schwab 

This week I was lucky enough to interview an author that will inevitably be challenging for one of the top spots on 2014’s ‘best SFF book of the year’ lists in the UK. That author is V.E. Schwab and the book I’m thinking of specifically is Vicious, which we awarded 9/10 in this review. Although Vicious is […]

Continue reading...

Perfect Beginnings…

Perfect Beginnings… 

There is no doubt that the first sentence of a novel is important; it’s the hook that draws the reader in. And, when it comes to fantasy and science-fiction, this opening line requires even more care: these words become the first steps a reader takes in your alternate reality, dimension, planet or timeline. Get it […]

Continue reading...

Fantasy & Ebooks: Big in China!

Fantasy & Ebooks: Big in China! 

When you think of China it’s likely that images of dragons, spirits, magic, combat, swords and alternative states of consciousness come to mind; all the ingredients of a successful fantasy novel. This is likely to contrast heavily with the second image you’re likely to get, the birthing place of the majority of our affordable electronics […]

Continue reading...

Final ‘Interstellar’ Trailer Released

Final ‘Interstellar’ Trailer Released 

We’ve seen a number of trailers for Christopher Nolan’s upcoming movie, Interstellar, but none of them seemed to give a true feeling of what the film was about or the kind of atmosphere it would have. Well, this latest one just released by Fox looks to change that. We find out that the plot will […]

Continue reading...