Dear Grimdark… Guest Post by Sam Sykes
 

Dear Grimdark…

A Letter From Sam Sykes

 
Fantasy Book Club – November 2014: Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
 

Neverwhere

Fantasy Book Club November 2014

 
The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss – Extensive Review
 

The Slow Regard of Silent Things

Review

 

Browsing all articles by Overlord.

The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss – Extensive Review

The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss – Extensive Review
2.5

Reviewer’s Foreword Picking up The Slow Regard of Silent Things you are greeted by a number of warnings from the author: “You might not want to buy this book.” … “I think it’s only fair to warn you that this is a bit of a strange story.” … “I don’t go in for spoilers, but suffice to […]

Continue reading...

A World of Ice & Fire is… Here!

Hey, Westeros fans, finally you’re able to get your hands on the bestselling A World of Ice & Fire and if you’ve not yet been convinced to pick it up already then get ready to be, because the publishers have put out this awesome video in order to tempt you to hitting that add to basket button […]

Continue reading...

Eliza Crewe on her Crushed protagonist, Meda

Eliza Crewe on her Crushed protagonist, Meda 

Regular readers of Fantasy-Faction will remember that following the closure of Strange Chemistry – an event that saw many writers thrust into the unfortunate position where they were unexpectedly out of contract – we offered our site to those authors who were going to pursue the self publishing route. Because the closure of Strange Chemistry […]

Continue reading...

The Avengers: Age of Ultron Trailer

The Avengers: Age of Ultron Trailer 

Well, here it is, the trailer we’ve all been waiting almost 2 years for has finally arrived a few days earlier than planned (due to a leak). That movie is, of course, The Avengers: Age of Ultron. With S.H.I.E.L.D. destroyed and the Avengers needing a hiatus from stopping threats, Tony Stark attempts to jumpstart a […]

Continue reading...

Assassin’s Apprentice FREE on UK Kindle

Assassin’s Apprentice FREE on UK Kindle 

Someone somewhere is feeling generous, because right now Assassin’s Apprentice by Robinh Hobb is completely free on the Amazon Kindle in the UK. So far no word on why (that I can find), but we’re presuming it is just to turn even more readers towards Hobb’s books and, especially her new series – that begins with […]

Continue reading...

Learn Dothraki on your Iphone

Learn Dothraki on your Iphone 

You’ve got a while until season 5 of A Game of Thrones starts, so perhaps you are looking for something to do in order to kill the time? Something productive, that will come in useful in the near  future (so long as that future includes heading to a nomadic land full of warriors), perhaps then it […]

Continue reading...

Mortal Instruments not right for Box Office, but TV…?

Mortal Instruments not right for Box Office, but TV…? 

Did any of you see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie? It was supposed to be a movie that would pick up a fan base along the same lines of Twilight or The Hunger Games, but instead bombed in the same way that The Golden Compass did in 2007. If you didn’t see it, it’s […]

Continue reading...

The Providence of Fire – UK Cover Revealed

Tor UK have released the cover for Brian Staveley’s upcoming The Providence of Fire. Before we show it you, though, here’s the blurb accompanied by the US cover (for comparison in just a moment). Brian Staveley’s Providence of Fire, the second novel in the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, a gripping new epic fantasy series in […]

Continue reading...

Good news: Angry Robot here to stay.

It has been a pretty scary few months for fans of Science-Fiction and Fantasy imprint Angry Robot. Earlier this year news surfaced that the publisher’s owners were going through tough times and as a result ended up dropping their Strange Chemistry imprint – which published a vast array of young adult and young adult fantasy […]

Continue reading...

Lev Grossman vs Mainstream Television

Lev Grossman vs Mainstream Television 

Sometimes, writing for Fantasy-Faction, I forget the extent to which the mainstream media looks down their nose at Fantasy fiction. Although George R.R. Martin’s recent success has opened a number of doors for fantasy authors in recent years, I’m sure that any Press Officer from any publishing house will tell you it remains damned difficult […]

Continue reading...

The Liar’s Key – early US/UK cover preview

The Liar’s Key – early US/UK cover preview 

Mark Lawrence’s The Broken Empire trilogy won awards not only for its poetic prose and boundary-pushing story, but also for its exceptional cover art. Mark has always offered up his cover designer, Jason Chan, a lot of praise and, being the good guy that he is, helped promote the artist wherever he can – there seems to be […]

Continue reading...

Interview with V.E. Schwab

Interview with V.E. Schwab 

This week I was lucky enough to interview an author that will inevitably be challenging for one of the top spots on 2014’s ‘best SFF book of the year’ lists in the UK. That author is V.E. Schwab and the book I’m thinking of specifically is Vicious, which we awarded 9/10 in this review. Although Vicious is […]

Continue reading...