So What’s The Fuss About Campaign Cartographer?
 

So What’s The Fuss About Campaign Cartographer?

Article

 
Priest by Matthew Colville – Fantasy-Faction’s SPFBO Winner
 

Priest by Matthew Colville

SBFBO Review

 
Terry Pratchett attacked by Guardian Journalist Jonathan Jones…
 

Terry Pratchett

Wasn't writing throwaway Fantasy...

 

Browsing all articles by Overlord.

Priest by Matthew Colville – Fantasy-Faction’s SPFBO Winner

Priest by Matthew Colville – Fantasy-Faction’s SPFBO Winner
3.75

I was sent 27 Self Published novels to read as part of Mark Lawrence’s Self Published Fantasy Blog Off. The process of the SPFBO is that 10 Fantasy blogs around the world make their way through a total of 267 Self Published books and each selects a champion. Once a champion has been selected they are entered into […]

Continue reading...

Terry Pratchett attacked by Guardian Journalist Jonathan Jones…

Terry Pratchett attacked by Guardian Journalist Jonathan Jones… 

A disappointing article appeared in The Guardian today entitled “Get real. Terry Pratchett is not a literary genius“. The journalist who wrote the piece, Jonathan Jones, begins by telling readers that ‘I have never read a single one of his books and I never plan to. Life’s too short.’ I guess that on its own […]

Continue reading...

Authors & Stories Announced for Warrior Women edited by Paula Guran

Authors & Stories Announced for Warrior Women edited by Paula Guran 

We love our Science Fiction and Fantasy anthologies here at Fantasy-Faction and although the title ‘Warrior Women‘ for Paula Guran’s upcoming collection had us a little concerned, we’ve been able to breathe a sigh of relief today upon the release of more details about it. We thought there was a good chance we were about […]

Continue reading...

MTV’s Shannara Characters Revealed

MTV’s Shannara Characters Revealed 

MTV have released cast photos of their upcoming “The Shannara Chronicles” series that will be based primarily on Terry Brooks’s The Elfstones of Shannara (book 2 in the Shannara series and hailed as one of Brooks’s best works). MTV describe the series as ‘a story of three young teens destined to complete a heroic quest thousands of […]

Continue reading...

New Joe Abercrombie book announced!

New Joe Abercrombie book announced! 

So, Joe Abercrombie’s Young Adult trilogy has now finished. Although 5 years ago we’d never have entertained the idea that Joe would go down the YA route we were so damned impressed with the result that we didn’t bug him – even once – about when the next First Law novel would be coming. It […]

Continue reading...

September’s Newsletter

September’s Newsletter 

Dear Fantasy Factioner, Another incredible month here at Fantasy-Faction HQ. We’ve not only had our usual array of awesome articles and reviews, but also a noteworthy discussion on Self-Publishing that set Twitter ablaze. Oh, and you may remember that last month I invited you to join our Facebook Group that we’d just started… Well, as […]

Continue reading...

The Lowdown on REALMWALKER PUBLISHING…

The Lowdown on REALMWALKER PUBLISHING… 

Following the awesome response to my article on beginner writers choosing to Self Publish, we’re having a bit of a ‘means of publishing your work’ month on Fantasy-Faction. A piece of this will be my follow up article where I talk about when Self Publishing is probably more sensible than seeking the Traditional route and where […]

Continue reading...

Gemmell Award Winners

Gemmell Award Winners 

Congratulations to the winners of the 2014/2015 David Gemmell Awards. Although I wasn’t able to make it this year, I’m told the evening – hosted at Nine Worlds Geekfest – was absolutely awesome. Here’s a reminded of who picked up what: RAVENHEART AWARD (Best cover art) Sam Green for Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson […]

Continue reading...

The Thorn Of Emberlain Delay & Best Wishes to Scott Lynch

The Thorn Of Emberlain Delay & Best Wishes to Scott Lynch 

Sad news for fans of Locke Lamora, Scott Lynch’s latest Gentleman Bastards book, The Thorn of Emberlain, has been set back a bit. It’s disappointing news as a reader, but sadder news as a fan of Scott Lynch. The guy is such a role model, such a friendly guy, such a funny person, someone who […]

Continue reading...

Why I Don’t Generally Recommend Self-Publishing to Beginners

Why I Don’t Generally Recommend Self-Publishing to Beginners 

I am either the best possible choice as a judge for Mark Lawrence’s ‘The Great Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off’ or the worst choice. I should probably explain that, shouldn’t I? When someone comes to me asking whether they should self-publish a book I almost always convince them that no, they should not. The process of convincing […]

Continue reading...

Myke Cole’s ‘Javelin Rain’ Cover Revealed

Myke Cole’s ‘Javelin Rain’ Cover Revealed 

We’ve made no secret that we are big Myke Cole fans here at Fantasy-Faction and it is undeniable that with each book Myke’s work gets better and better. If you’ve not read Gemini Cell yet then you’re really missing out because it is one heck of a good book and shows how far Myke has […]

Continue reading...

James A. Moore signs new deal with Angry Robot

James A. Moore signs new deal with Angry Robot 

A couple of days ago, James A Moore popped up in a Facebook Group I’m a member of and announced that he’d just signed a deal for a new series. Naturally intrigued, I searched the net for details and was unable to find anything… Then, moments later an e-mail appeared from Angry Robot telling me […]

Continue reading...