Nether Light by Shaun Paul Stevens – SPFBO #6 Finals Review

Nether Light

SPFBO #6 Finals Review

God of Gnomes by Demi Harper

God of Gnomes


Last Memoria by Rachel Emma Shaw – SPFBO #6 Finals Review

Last Memoria

SPFBO #6 Finals Review


British Fantasy Awards 2016 Short List – And We’re On It!

British Fantasy Society (logo)Hello everyone! I am super excited to announce that Fantasy-Faction has once again been nominated for the British Fantasy Award for Best Non-Fiction! That in and of itself would be amazing, but check out all the awesomeness on this list! We are sharing space with some very very talented people!

Marc and I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate our fellow nominees and to thank our brilliant group of contributors without which this site would not be here today!

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday, September 25, 2016, at FantasyCon 2016 in Scarborough: FantasyCon By The Sea.

Good luck to everyone! And thanks to everyone who nominated us!

British Fantasy Awards 2016 Short List

Best Anthology

African Monsters, editors Margrét Helgadóttir and Jo Thomas (Fox Spirit Books)
Aickman’s Heirs, editor Simon Strantzas (Undertow Publications)
Best British Horror 2015, editor Johnny Mains (Salt Publishing)
The Doll Collection, editor Ellen Datlow (Tor Books)
The 2nd Spectral Book of Horror Stories, editor Mark Morris (Spectral Press)

Best Artist

Ben Baldwin
Vincent Chong
Julie Dillon
Evelinn Enoksen
Sarah Anne Langton
Jeffrey Alan Love

Best Collection

Ghost Summer: Stories by Tananarive Due (Prime Books)
Monsters by Paul Kane (The Alchemy Press)
Probably Monsters by Ray Cluley (ChiZine Publications)
Scar City by Joel Lane (Eibonvale Press)
Skein and Bone by V.H. Leslie (Undertow Publications)
The Stars Seem So Far Away by Margrét Helgadóttir (Fox Spirit Books)

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

Bitch Planet, Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter (Image Comics) (#2–5)
Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why, G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt and Adrian Alphona (Marvel)
Nimona, Noelle Stevenson (HarperTeen)
Red Sonja, Gail Simone and Walter Geovani (Dynamite Entertainment) (#14–18)
Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics) (#25–32)
The Sandman: Overture, Neil Gaiman, J.H. Williams III and Dave Stewart (Vertigo)

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

Guns of the Dawn by Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor)
Half a War by Joe Abercrombie (HarperVoyager)
The Iron Ghost by Jen Williams (Headline)
Signal to Noise by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Solaris)
Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho (Macmillan)
Uprooted by Naomi Novik (Macmillan)

Best Film/Television Production

Inside No. 9, “The Trial of Elizabeth Gadge”, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton (BBC Two)
Jessica Jones, “AKA WWJD?”, Scott Reynolds (Netflix)
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Peter Harness (BBC One)
Mad Max: Fury Road, George Miller, Brendan McCarthy and Nico Lathouris (Warner Bros. Pictures et al.)
Midwinter of the Spirit, Stephen Volk (ITV Studios)
Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt (Lucasfilm et al.)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

A Cold Silence by Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Death House by Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
Lost Girl by Adam Nevill (Pan Books)
Rawblood by Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)
The Silence by Tim Lebbon (Titan Books)
Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor (Orbit)

Best Independent Press

The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards)
Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)
Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
Newcon Press (Ian Whates)

Best Magazine/Periodical

Beneath Ceaseless Skies, editor Scott H. Andrews (Firkin Press)
Black Static, editor Andy Cox (TTA Press)
Holdfast Magazine, editors Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee (Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee)
Interzone, editor Andy Cox (TTA Press)
Strange Horizons, editor Niall Harrison (Strange Horizons)

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

Becky Chambers, for The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet (Hodder & Stoughton)
Zen Cho, for Sorcerer to the Crown (Macmillan)
Peter Newman, for The Vagrant (HarperVoyager)
Steven Poore, for The Heir to the North (Kristell Ink)
Marc Turner, for When the Heavens Fall (Titan Books)

Best Non-Fiction

The Art of Horror: An Illustrated History, editor Stephen Jones (Applause Theatre & Cinema Books)
Fantasy-Faction, editors Marc Aplin and Jennie Ivins (Fantasy-Faction)
Ginger Nuts of Horror, editor Jim Mcleod (Jim McLeod)
King for a Year, editor Mark West (Mark West)
Letters to Tiptree, editors Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)
Matrilines, Kari Sperring (Strange Horizons)

Best Novella

Albion Fay by Mark Morris (Spectral Press)
Binti by Nnedi Okorafor (
The Bureau of Them by Cate Gardner (Spectral Press)
The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn by Usman T. Malik (
Witches of Lytchford by Paul Cornell (

Best Short Fiction

“The Blue Room” by V. H. Leslie (Skein and Bone)
“Dirt Land” by Ralph Robert Moore (Black Static #49)
“Fabulous Beasts” by Priya Sharma (
“Hippocampus” by Adam Nevill (Terror Tales of the Ocean)
“Strange Creation” by Frances Kay (Tenebris Nyxies)
“When The Moon Man Knocks” by Cate Gardner (Black Static #48)

– – –

Do you have a favorite to win? Or think the nominations missed someone? Let us know in the comments!



  1. Avatar ScarletBea says:

    Now you have to change the banner on the right side: 2013, 2014 and 2016 😀

  2. Avatar sjbuddj says:


Leave a Comment