Witch by Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguié
 

Witch

Classic SFF Review

 
Critical Role Is A Natural 20 Of A Good Time
 

Critical Role Is A Natural 20 Of A Good Time

Livestream Review

 
Character Development: Character Death and the Ultimate Sacrifice
 

Character Death & the Ultimate Sacrifice

Article

 

Browsing all articles tagged with Scott Lynch.

Confirmation The Thorn Of Emberlain is delayed

Confirmation The Thorn Of Emberlain is delayed 

Over the past few weeks, we’d been hearing a few whispers from our friends in publishing that Scott Lynch’s The Thorn Of Emberlain probably wouldn’t make the September 2016 release date. A few members of our Facebook Group picked up on these rumours too and expressed their disappointment, but understanding towards Scott’s real life issues. Phil, for […]

Continue reading...

The Thorn Of Emberlain Delay & Best Wishes to Scott Lynch

The Thorn Of Emberlain Delay & Best Wishes to Scott Lynch 

Sad news for fans of Locke Lamora, Scott Lynch’s latest Gentleman Bastards book, The Thorn of Emberlain, has been set back a bit. It’s disappointing news as a reader, but sadder news as a fan of Scott Lynch. The guy is such a role model, such a friendly guy, such a funny person, someone who […]

Continue reading...

Cover for ‘The Thorn of Emberlain’ by Scott Lynch revealed

Cover for ‘The Thorn of Emberlain’ by Scott Lynch revealed 

With the release of The Rebublic of Thieves in 2013, Scott Lynch and Gollancz assured us that we wouldn’t have any further 6 year waits between Gentleman Bastard novels. Initially we were told that The Thorn of Emberlain would hit shelves around Autumn of 2014, so when that date sailed by we admittedly panicked. Scott assured us though […]

Continue reading...

Rogues edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois

Rogues edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois
4.25

G.R.R.M. states in his introduction that’s the “Rogues is not meant to be a fantasy anthology” but I picked it up for the authors that I knew from being a fantasy reader, and I believe most readers will, so that’s where I will focus. The character type is so ingrained in the fantasy genre and […]

Continue reading...

Scott Lynch’s Fourth Gentleman Bastard book coming in 2014!

Scott Lynch’s Fourth Gentleman Bastard book coming in 2014! 

In what can only be described as super-fricken-awesome news, Scott Lynch has told Fantastical Imaginations that The Thorn of Emberlain is on schedule for a 2014 Q3 release. Here’s what Scott said: “My next book, THE THORN OF EMBERLAIN, ought to be out in the fall of 2014. [It’s] the fourth book in the Gentleman Bastard […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 3

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 3 

So, this month, after farrrrr too long waiting, The Republic of Thieves has been released. Yes, it has been a good few years since the release of Red Seas Under Red Skies, and we’re not ones who like to go into a book unprepared; so we at Fantasy-Faction thought a Read Along was very much in order. […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 2

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 2 

So, this month, after farrrrr too long waiting, The Republic of Thieves has been released. Yes, it has been a good few years since the release of Red Seas Under Red Skies, and we’re not ones who like to go into a book unprepared; so we at Fantasy-Faction thought a Read Along was very much in order. […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 1

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 1 

Welcome to the first week of our Red Seas Under Red Skies Read-Along. What a week it was too! I honestly can’t think of many books which start as excitingly and with as much intrigue as Red Seas Under Red Skies does. Not only that, but there is such a huge variety of emotions you are led […]

Continue reading...

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch – EXCLUSIVE BOOK TRAILER

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch – EXCLUSIVE BOOK TRAILER 

You know, The Republic of Thieves was on Fantasy-Faction’s Most Anticipated Book of the Year list for 2011, 2012, and 2013. If we had a Most Anticipated Book of the Decade award, it certainly would’ve been up there with the likes of Patrick Rothfuss, George R.R. Martin and the final Wheel of Time book. But, […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch
3.5

It’s a common theme that the second book in a series is the most difficult to write, think of all the time you can spend on your first novel when you’re unpublished and there’s no agent or editor or deadline to worry about it’s just you and your work. Then suddenly there’s pressure, especially if […]

Continue reading...

Locke and Me

Locke and Me 

For many years – particularly my late teens – fantasy was my genre of choice. I devoured anything I could get from my local library (back then, they seemed to have everything) and working there for my first Saturday job felt like a dream come true. I’d spend school holidays reading and role-playing, the characters […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along Launch

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along Launch 

Hey Fantasy Factioners & Gollancz Geeks, I hope you enjoyed The Lies of Locke Lamora Read-Along and share the same burning desire as me to continue on with the series by way of Red Seas Under Red Skies. I found the Read-Along dynamic very rewarding. It was awesome to be able to discuss certain, more complex, events or passages […]

Continue reading...