Numenera: Role Playing in the Ninth World
 

Numenera: Role-Playing in the 9th World

Tabletop RPG Review

 
Descendant of the Crane by Joan He
 

Descendant of the Crane

Review

 
Todd Lockwood Interview – The Summer Dragon
 

Todd Lockwood

Interview – The Summer Dragon

 

Browsing all articles tagged with Gentlemen Bastard Sequence.

The Thorn Of Emberlain Delay & Best Wishes to Scott Lynch

The Thorn Of Emberlain Delay & Best Wishes to Scott Lynch 

Sad news for fans of Locke Lamora, Scott Lynch’s latest Gentleman Bastards book, The Thorn of Emberlain, has been set back a bit. It’s disappointing news as a reader, but sadder news as a fan of Scott Lynch. The guy is such a role model, such a friendly guy, such a funny person, someone who […]

Continue reading...

Cover for ‘The Thorn of Emberlain’ by Scott Lynch revealed

Cover for ‘The Thorn of Emberlain’ by Scott Lynch revealed 

With the release of The Rebublic of Thieves in 2013, Scott Lynch and Gollancz assured us that we wouldn’t have any further 6 year waits between Gentleman Bastard novels. Initially we were told that The Thorn of Emberlain would hit shelves around Autumn of 2014, so when that date sailed by we admittedly panicked. Scott assured us though […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 3

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 3 

So, this month, after farrrrr too long waiting, The Republic of Thieves has been released. Yes, it has been a good few years since the release of Red Seas Under Red Skies, and we’re not ones who like to go into a book unprepared; so we at Fantasy-Faction thought a Read Along was very much in order. […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 2

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 2 

So, this month, after farrrrr too long waiting, The Republic of Thieves has been released. Yes, it has been a good few years since the release of Red Seas Under Red Skies, and we’re not ones who like to go into a book unprepared; so we at Fantasy-Faction thought a Read Along was very much in order. […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 1

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along – Part 1 

Welcome to the first week of our Red Seas Under Red Skies Read-Along. What a week it was too! I honestly can’t think of many books which start as excitingly and with as much intrigue as Red Seas Under Red Skies does. Not only that, but there is such a huge variety of emotions you are led […]

Continue reading...

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch – EXCLUSIVE BOOK TRAILER

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch – EXCLUSIVE BOOK TRAILER 

You know, The Republic of Thieves was on Fantasy-Faction’s Most Anticipated Book of the Year list for 2011, 2012, and 2013. If we had a Most Anticipated Book of the Decade award, it certainly would’ve been up there with the likes of Patrick Rothfuss, George R.R. Martin and the final Wheel of Time book. But, […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch
3.5

It’s a common theme that the second book in a series is the most difficult to write, think of all the time you can spend on your first novel when you’re unpublished and there’s no agent or editor or deadline to worry about it’s just you and your work. Then suddenly there’s pressure, especially if […]

Continue reading...

Locke and Me

Locke and Me 

For many years – particularly my late teens – fantasy was my genre of choice. I devoured anything I could get from my local library (back then, they seemed to have everything) and working there for my first Saturday job felt like a dream come true. I’d spend school holidays reading and role-playing, the characters […]

Continue reading...

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along Launch

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Read Along Launch 

Hey Fantasy Factioners & Gollancz Geeks, I hope you enjoyed The Lies of Locke Lamora Read-Along and share the same burning desire as me to continue on with the series by way of Red Seas Under Red Skies. I found the Read-Along dynamic very rewarding. It was awesome to be able to discuss certain, more complex, events or passages […]

Continue reading...

Gentleman Bastard Read Along – Chapters 13-16

Gentleman Bastard Read Along – Chapters 13-16 

Welcome to the final week of our Lies of Locke Lamora Read-Along. I hope you’ve enjoyed the last four weeks as much as I have and that you’ve gotten a more enjoyable, fuller and deeper appreciation of the work Scott Lynch put into this novel than if you’d read it on your own. Certainly this is the case for […]

Continue reading...

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch
4

So, it’s finally here. You’ve finished your re-read of The Lies of Locke Lamora and Red Seas Under Red Skies. You’ve laughed and cried along with Locke and Jean. You’ve learned from the Thief Maker and Father Chains. You’ve mourned anew for Calo and Galdo and Bug. Well fear not, for with the third book […]

Continue reading...

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
4.5

Now let’s be honest, as a fantasy author having the leading quote on your novel from none other than George R.R. Martin is a good indication that you’ve done something right and that’s certainly what Scott Lynch has done. The Lies of Locke Lamora follows a band of thieves, The Gentleman Bastards, on their latest […]

Continue reading...