April 02, 2020, 05:12:58 PM

Author Topic: The first words... How to start...How to plan?  (Read 6097 times)

Offline Yuan François

• Godling
  • Love is a sweet poison, but it kills nevertheless.
    • View Profile
The first words... How to start...How to plan?
« on: July 08, 2013, 03:57:27 AM »
I'm a new member of this Forum. I'm a young author, and I have a lot to learn. I have an aspiration to write a novel, and am basically at the bottom of the writing pyramid; the "wanna-be's."

I've been told that I'm a talented writer, excelling over others at my age. However, I can't seem to organize my ideas to put on paper. I am a perfectionist, and it seems that every sentence I write is insufficient.

I struggle to connect the fragments of the fictional world I wish to create. I find myself tearing out leaves and leaves, or deleting paragraph after paragraph on Microsoft Word.

It seems my mind is too crowded, since I cannot properly develop the plot. I think about the end of the novel before I begin. I reminisce on the thoughts of the best moments that would take place in my novel. I'm eager to start writing those moments, but grow weary writing the sections before the thrill, or the advancement of the plot.

My questions are:

1. How can I properly develop and organize my thoughts, so as to create the ideal world in which the ideal characters divulge in?
2. I seem to lose interest after the few paragraphs that mark the beginning of the novel, should I start with a bang? Should every chapter be thrilling?
« Last Edit: July 08, 2013, 04:00:30 AM by Inextremis »
"It seems to me most strange that men should fear; Seeing that death, a necessary end, will come when it will come."
-Julius Caesar, William Shakespeare

http://enygmatickid.wordpress.com/

https://princeandprodigy.wordpress.com/

Offline Doctor_Chill

• RPG Ringleader and Writing Contest Regular
  • Writing Group
  • Ta'veren
  • You've been pugged.
    • View Profile
    • Acerbic Writing