March 30, 2020, 08:56:28 PM

Author Topic: So... what to build houses out of in the far future?  (Read 1750 times)

Offline Eli_Freysson

So... what to build houses out of in the far future?
« on: May 19, 2016, 02:25:56 PM »
I just realized that I've never gone into what the buildings in my space opera setting are made of. I'm no engineer, but I do know that concrete degrades rather quickly compared to, say, stone castles.

I guess I could just say something like "megaconcrete" but I would like to put a little more thought into it.

Despite dipping into writing in the genre, I really do have little experience with space opera. Could someone give me suggestions on futuristic building materials, or what RL scientists predict?

I'll notify your next of kin... that you sucked!

Offline Nora

• Dropped in from another planet avec son sourire provocateur - et Hades and Writing Contest Regular
  • Writing Group
  • Dragonrider
  • The Explorer
    • View Profile
Re: So... what to build houses out of in the far future?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 02:48:42 PM »
Fullerenes. Bulk fullerenes.
"She will need coffee soon, or molecular degeneration will set in. Her French phrasing will take over even more strongly, and soon she will dissolve into a puddle of alienation and Kierkegaardian despair."  ~ Jmack

Wishy washy lyricism and maudlin unrequited love are my specialty - so said Lady_Ty

Offline Rukaio_Alter

• Writing Contest Regular and Ineffectual Comic Relief
  • Writing Group
  • Ambient Mage
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2016, 02:50:34 PM »
Sorry if I sound a little dismissive here, but does it really matter? 99.99999% of people who read your book probably aren't going to know that concrete degrades quicker and those that do probably won't care. Unless the material your buildings are made from plays an important role in your story, it's really not something worth worrying about.