May 30, 2020, 06:58:08 PM

Author Topic: Rejections and acceptance issues  (Read 3989 times)

Offline S. K. Inkslinger

Rejections and acceptance issues
« on: June 04, 2017, 07:56:07 AM »
Anddd... I've just been rejected by another online publisher. Submitting to a smaller publisher thinking that it'll raise my chances is pretty much no good, I guess.  :-\

I'm still new to all of this, so this is only my third rejection so far. I've got 997 more rejections to go for the "Fail a thousand times to succeed on the thousand oneth" (as quotes go) achievement I reckon.

How about everyone here? How many times have you been rejected, and are there any times that stung worse than the others? Are there any extra pointers/ tips I should take into consideration on submitting my works to publishers?   

Offline Steve Harrison

Re: Rejections and acceptance issues
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2017, 08:29:54 AM »
I'm pretty sure I stacked up well over a thousand rejections before I was accepted, but I always thought I was publishable and eventually I was right.

There's no real answer to your question. I did a lot of research into targeting publishers who I thought would be a good fit, but really it's a numbers game and ten rejections can be for ten different reasons. You are looking for that one person who appreciates your brilliance!

One thing I did do was go back and thank the publisher after each rejection and ask if there was a specific reason for saying no. Very few responded, but their feedback was excellent and I kept writing and improving.

My only other piece of advice is to follow the publisher's submission requirements to the letter and always present your work professionally. If they don't like the writing/story, that's fine, but you do not want them to be offside before they start reading or, indeed, throw it out unread because the writer hasn't read their requirements.

Every rejection hurt, but I told myself that each one took me one rejection closer to acceptance.