September 29, 2020, 05:27:19 AM

Author Topic: Plotting backwards  (Read 8939 times)

Offline DRMarvello

Re: Plotting backwards
« Reply #30 on: March 07, 2015, 02:12:31 PM »
Yeah, I guess discovery writing really isn't n option with this approach. But does anyone else do this? Creating the plot by starting at the end and then doing the actual writing going down this pre-established track?
I don't start at the end, but I don't start until I know the end. I'm a Snowflake Method writer, for the most part.

Like you, inspiration often starts with a character in a particular situation (though not always the climax).  I expand the inspiration scene backward and forward until I have the main plot points. From there, story planning becomes a dance between plot and character.

I don't go all the way down to the scene level with my planning because that never works out for me. Once I start writing, I *always* discover things and make tweaks to the plan. I rarely change the major plot points, but I never know how I'll get from one point to the next until I start writing. (James Scott Bell calls this the "Headlights Method" because you know where you are going, but you don't see the details until you reach that part of the story.)

This has been an interesting thread. Thanks for starting it. I love reading about how other authors assemble their stories, and I'm always looking for ways to improve my process.
Daniel R. Marvello
Blog: The Vaetra Files
Books: The Vaetra Chronicles

Offline night_wrtr

« Reply #31 on: March 28, 2015, 10:06:33 PM »
My first completed book had a horrendous ending. It was the result of my discovery writing. I didn't know where I was going and it showed. The characters had satisfying conclusions, however, a massive overarching plot point went unsolved...

My beta reader. "What? How...how do you end a book with an army outside the city gates!"