December 15, 2019, 09:41:35 PM

Author Topic: Omniscient vs third person limited: which should I choose?  (Read 2461 times)

Offline NinjaRaptor

Omniscient vs third person limited: which should I choose?
« on: April 28, 2016, 04:30:56 PM »
I suppose this question's answer could depend on the project, but I'm mulling over which would work better as a general approach for my writing. Most of the time, I use third person limited since that seems to be what reviewers prefer, but I have considered practicing with an omniscient perspective due to one issue that keeps bothering me.

As a writer, I like describing my characters so that the reader has some idea what they look like. I have a lot of stories with non-Western settings in which people who don't look European predominate, and I worry that omitting descriptions of racial characteristics will perpetuate the "white is default" problem. On the other hand, describing your PoV characters in a "limited" PoV is considered taboo due to the presumption that characters wouldn't think about their own appearance most of the time. Personally, I disagree with this opinion---I see third person limited more like a camera following the character rather than looking straight through their eyes, so you still get a view of the character themselves---but so many reviewers have adopted it that I'm tired of hearing it altogether. If I were to adopt a broader omniscient point of view, I would skirt the problem entirely.

On the other hand, I've read that an omniscient point of view shouldn't get too close to any of the characters and their feelings or else you risk "head-hopping"---that is, confusing the reader by switching between multiple points of view within a scene. Thing is, while I can see why switching between too many viewpoints within one scene can be confusing, I actually do think getting closer to at least one character's point of view can give the writing more emotional power.