November 24, 2020, 05:53:00 AM

Author Topic: How do you estimate your progress when revising a novel?  (Read 3272 times)

Offline Skip

Re: How do you estimate your progress when revising a novel?
« Reply #15 on: January 25, 2018, 05:22:47 AM »
In reply, though not in argument, to tebakutis, there are those who can produce and that rate and do it well. The one I often cite is Georges Simenon, who wrote over two hundred books in his life, turning out a book in six weeks. Then he'd take a break for a few months, then bang out another. Isaac Asimov is another famous workhorse.

I mention this only to note that it *can* be done and with quality. As for me, I'm still learning to hack my way through the jungle without worrying about where there might be a faster route.
Visit Altearth

Offline J.R. Darewood

• aka Duckly Breadgood
  • Writing Group
  • Khaleesi
  • Zork. And it was all downhill from there.
    • Nerd Empire
Re: Not Long?
« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2018, 11:28:36 AM »

On my end, I'm able to keep a decent pace because my fantasy novels aren't terribly long. My World in Chains series is the longest with lengths of 160k, 140k, 120k, and 170k for each of the books. My Sunweaver series, on the other hand has all the books coming in around 105k. My most recent series that I'm still in the process of writing has gone at about 110k and then 95k.

170,000 words isn't long? I think 95,000 is quite long for a novel!

As far as epic fantasy goes, the books can get much, much longer than 170,000 words. A Game of Thrones is the shortest in the series, and it comes in at about 300k. Nearly every book in The Wheel of Time is over 300k, with some approaching 400k. The same goes for the Malazan series. Every book so far in Sanderson's Stormlight Archive is over 400k. Even his shorter books, like the Mistborn trilogy, are still well over 200k a piece.