August 25, 2019, 04:52:13 PM

Author Topic: Finished my novel, now what?  (Read 486 times)

Online Magnus Hedén

• High Lord of commas and Grand Master of semicolons
  • Godling
  • My name is Magnus. I make stuff up.
    • View Profile
    • My Patreon
Re: Finished my novel, now what?
« Reply #15 on: August 13, 2019, 07:03:28 PM »
First of all, big congrats. It's a huge accomplishment.

Second: I agree that you shouldn't send it to agents unless you've gone through several thorough critiques and revisions. Your first, second, and third drafts aren't going to cut it, no matter who you are.

I'm a developmental editor and I can take a look at the first chapter for you (free of charge, of course). Usually a thorough critique of the first chapter will give you an idea of what needs working on with the rest of the book.
You can find stories on my Patreon
I'm also on Twitter and the Book of Faces

Offline isos81

« Reply #16 on: August 13, 2019, 09:45:23 PM »
First of all, big congrats. It's a huge accomplishment.

Second: I agree that you shouldn't send it to agents unless you've gone through several thorough critiques and revisions. Your first, second, and third drafts aren't going to cut it, no matter who you are.

I'm a developmental editor and I can take a look at the first chapter for you (free of charge, of course). Usually a thorough critique of the first chapter will give you an idea of what needs working on with the rest of the book.

That's a very nice offer. :)
Kallor shrugged. 'I've walked this land when the T'lan Imass were but children. I've commanded armies a hundred thousand strong. I've spread the fire of my wrath across entire continents, and sat alone upon tall thrones. Do you grasp the meaning of this?'

'Yes' said Caladan Brood. 'You never learn'

Offline S. K. Inkslinger

« Reply #17 on: August 14, 2019, 06:47:37 AM »
Thank you for the offer, guys. Right now I'm going nice and slow, so maybe once I'm ready I could notify you.

Online Magnus Hedén