10 (37%)
I'm equal parts explorer and architect.
8 (29.6%)
I'm an architect most of the time.
5 (18.5%)
I'm an architect only.
1 (3.7%)

Total Members Voted: 27

Author Topic: Are you an explorer or an architect?  (Read 3359 times)

Offline Raptori

• Barbarian who does not use the Oxford comma and Writing Contest Regular
  • Writing Group
  • Dragonrider
  • the prettiest kitty cat in the world
    • View Profile
Are you an explorer or an architect?
« on: June 15, 2015, 09:48:56 PM »
From various discussions, I've got a clear impression that most of the writers on here are explorers rather than architects - this poll is to see whether that's really the case or whether I'm imagining things! I've found a couple of older polls on the same subject - here and here - so it'll be interesting to see how they compare.

I think most people these days accept that it's a spectrum rather than two opposites, so I've added 5 options to the poll rather than just two - brief explanations below.

Note: I hate the term "pantser", and it bugs me that "discovery writer" doesn't match "planner" or "plotter", so for the sake of my sanity I'll use the terms "explorer" and "architect". Feel free to use whatever terms you want, since they all mean the same thing!

I'm an explorer only.
This means you do almost no planning whatsoever - you come up with the characters and/or an initial situation and then just write until you're done.

I'm an explorer most of the time.
This means you plan some parts before writing, but leave most of it to improvisation - for example you might have rough targets for the beginning, middle and end of the story, but you don't bother working out how you'll get there.

I'm equal parts explorer and architect.
This means you use both or either at different times, and don't have a preference either way - for example you might switch based on your mood, or what you feel works for a specific story, or anything really.

I'm an architect most of the time.