March 01, 2021, 04:02:43 AM

Author Topic: The Dragon Mage Saga - 200+ positive reviews!  (Read 574 times)

Offline Rohan_Vider

  • Tribute
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
  • Fantasy LitRPG Author
    • My website
The Dragon Mage Saga - 200+ positive reviews!
« on: January 15, 2021, 04:50:02 AM »
Overworld, Book 1 of the Dragon Mage Saga is out!

Over 100 5 star ratings on amazon.com in two weeks!

Hi guys,

Overworld, the first book in my new series, the Dragon Mage Saga has been released. The story follows the adventures of Jamie Sinclair, a young man who, along with the rest of humanity, is forced into the strange game-like land of Overworld after a magical apocalypse on Earth. There Jamie must use his unique abilities to help humanity survive their new home's many dangers.

You can grab a copy or read an excerpt of the book here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08QTYYBXK


Here is the blurb for the book:

A magic apocalypse. Refugees from Earth. A new world. Elves, orcs, and dragons!
Portals from Overworld have appeared on Earth, and beings intent on conscripting humanity into the mysterious Trials have invaded.

Earth is doomed. Humanity has been exiled. Can Jamie save mankind?
Jamie Sinclair, a young man with unique gifts, must find a way for his family and friends to survive Earth's destruction and build a new home in Overworld.

The Trials is not a game. Will Jamie survive its challenges?
Join Jamie as he struggles through the brutal Trials while wrestling with his new magics and Overworld's game-like dynamics.

A fantasy post-apocalyptic survival story of one man's journey to save humanity.

If you do pick up the book, please let me know what you think.

Happy reading!
Rohan





« Last Edit: February 15, 2021, 02:07:04 PM by Rohan_Vider »

Offline Rohan_Vider

  • Tribute
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
  • Fantasy LitRPG Author
    • My website
Re: The Dragon Mage Saga - 200+ positive reviews!
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2021, 06:12:21 AM »
"I LOVED THIS BOOK" - review of Overworld at Under The Radar SFF Book: https://undertheradarsffbooks.com/2021/02/08/overworld-by-rohan-m-vider-dragon-mage-saga-1/

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for a honest review. I would like to thank Rohan Vider tremendously for taking the time to contact me, wanting to share his book with me and now it is my job to return the favor. I LOVED THIS BOOK, plain and simple. I would never have picked this book out of the thousands you can find on amazon in a million years, but that just goes to show you how important connections are in this crazy world of ours. The Dragon Mage saga is categorized as a fantasy post apocalyptical story combined with LitRPG. I have to admit when I first heard this I was a little off put because I usually don’t enjoy these types of books as they can be gimmicky and dull. I promise you that I had none of those feels as I stormed through this book in two days and I felt like a little kid on my Gameboy wanting to level up my character and visit new places. You are all in for a treat!

Earth is being invades by these huge metal objects located sporadically across the globe just like in the movie Arrival. All of a sudden, a hologram appears and a foreign creature is talking to mankind about the destruction of Earth in two weeks time. Our main character, Jamie, notices that the alien’s being seen in the hologram are not the aliens he has grown up seeing in movies and on T.V, the aliens are orcs. The orcs explain that earth is coming to an end and humans are about to enter a land called Overworld with hundreds of other species battling for survival. Jamie then realizes that the huge metal objects are not spacecrafts but gates to this new world, but the gateway is opened on both sides and the orcs start invading earth. Guns and missiles have no affect on these orcs and they have a mission to gather as many humans with the potential for magic as they can and Jamie is one of those humans. I will not spoil anything in this review, but Jaime vows revenge on the orc nation for destroying his planet and will enter overworld with his vengeance.

Now, lets get into the fun parts of the story. There is no way I could do this book justice in explaining all the details and nuances into how the world operates, but I will give you a little taste. Before the humans entered Overworld, there was a manual released on the internet to prepare future gamers for this world. Each new player is required to select a certain traits before they enter Overworld and Jamie decides to select the traits of a dragon mage. This allows Jamie to attain power magic but at a huge cost and I will let you see for details of this for yourself. Next Jaime is thrusted in to an epic battle with strange creatures and the story really begins!

Players can level up in many different ways depending on the types of attributed they obtain through combat, training, scouting, building, and analyzing. Rohan Vider has definitely done his home work into home he wants the world to be and the details required to fill this world with action, mystery, and pain. Riddled through this world are hundreds of creature, lairs, dungeons, and certain objectives that cannot be ignored by anyone, Jaime included. Jamie will stop at nothing to have his revenge against the Orcs, but he knows that he can’t do it alone.

Rohan Vider has created an action packed page turner that had me reading for hours on end. I always needed to know what was going to happen to Jaime and his companions or what new skill we were going to discover. Rohan Vider writing style is very fluid and easy to comprehend but with the constant pushing of the narrative forward. Even the “slow” parts of the story had a purpose and there is not a page wasted in this book. Rohan Vider also has the propensity to break you heart and pull on your emotional strings time after time. There are several scenes that are very painful and it adds to the high stakes our characters find themselves in. You will be surprised on several occasions throughout this story.

Fans of LitRPG novels, gamers, fast paced action, or if you are just looking for a fun page turner will love this book. Even I am not immune to books flying under my radar and I need to step my game up to find more stories like this. The author has told me that he is writing book 2 now and he is hoping for a July 2021 release! This date can’t come soon enough and I will be eagerly waiting for the action to continue!

Cheers!

Offline Rohan_Vider

  • Tribute
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
  • Fantasy LitRPG Author
    • My website
Re: The Dragon Mage Saga - 200+ positive reviews!
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2021, 06:17:15 AM »
"Loved it! 😍" - review of Overworld at SlickDungeon: https://slickdungeon.blog/2021/01/22/overworld-the-dragon-mage-saga-book-review/

SUMMARY

A magic apocalypse. Refugees from Earth. A new world. Elves, orcs, and dragons!

Portals from Overworld have appeared on Earth, and beings intent on conscripting humanity into the mysterious Trials have invaded.

Earth is doomed. Humanity has been exiled. Can Jamie save mankind?

Jamie Sinclair, a young man with unique gifts, must find a way for his family and friends to survive Earth’s destruction and build a new home in Overworld.

The Trials is not a game. Will Jamie survive its challenges?

Join Jamie as he struggles through the brutal Trials while wrestling with his new magics and Overworld’s game-like dynamics.

A fantasy post-apocalyptic survival story of one man’s journey to save humanity.

REVIEW

4/5 STARS

Jamie Sinclair is an avid gamer who loves the challenge of playing online games. When Earth is threatened with extinction and forced onto a new planet called Overworld Jamie will have to put all his skills to use, only this time it is no game. On Overworld there are life and death consequences to your actions and one mistake can mean the end for someone in the Trials. Jamie has a bit of a disadvantage in the Trials because he has a hobbled foot but he doesn’t let that stop him from being as much of a hero as he can. He does have one thing going for him though–he can cast magic and that makes him valuable to his friends and potentially deadly to his foes.

At times there is a bit of overexplaining of how the Trials game system works but if you love playing video games or are really into hard magic systems in fantasy this won’t be an issue. The enemies are deadly and dangerous and make for interesting foes. Jamie’s character develops well in most parts of the book and keeps the reader engaged. The action is fun and frenetic with what feels like real stakes involved. There are some standard fantasy bad guys but there are at least a few enemies that were surprising and fun to read about.

The world is quite well thought out and it’s easy to get an understanding of how it works even if the reader is not a gamer. The author does a good job of setting up the first book while laying the groundwork for a sequel.

For readers who love books like Ready Player One, Warcross, or fantasy books full of orcs, elves, and the like, Overworld, the Dragon Mage Saga is a book that will be thoroughly enjoyable.

Offline Bender

  • Gentleman Bastard
  • *****
  • Posts: 1642
  • Gender: Male
Re: The Dragon Mage Saga - 200+ positive reviews!
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2021, 11:20:59 PM »
Was thinking of reviewing this for a blog. Still in my TBR.
"I shall hunt your firstborn children and laugh with glee as I tell them of your death in terrible detail, with many unpleasant adjectives!" - M-Bot

"Who needs science when you have a dragon?" - Neil DeGrasse Tyson in Sharknado 6