June 26, 2019, 09:24:12 AM

Author Topic: Good freelance editors?  (Read 23527 times)

Offline CaitSpivey

Re: Good freelance editors?
« Reply #30 on: March 16, 2015, 06:26:41 PM »
Great discussion going in this topic so far!

I'm an editor with indie presses REUTS Publications and Curiosity Quills Press, both of whom are SFF-oriented, and I'm also a literary agent assistant at Corvisiero Agency. In addition to that, I co-own a freelance editing company called Bear and Black Dog Editing.

Courtney has given great advice, and I just want to second a lot of what she's said. For a novel of average length, expect to pay somewhere between $1200-$1800 for a full manuscript edit. (asabo, your 80k example would be about $1000-$1300 by my company's prices, depending on what the page count ended up being--we charge a flat fee of $6/page.)

A reputable editor will always provide references and do a free sample--we do a three-page sample for full MS edits. It's really important to find an editor who is not only skilled, but who gets your writing style and your genre.

Many editors these days offer less expensive packages. At Bear and Black Dog, we've got a very popular reader report package that's only $1/page. We don't make actual edits to the manuscript, but we read it and give you an editorial letter detailing the strengths and weaknesses of the manuscript, which our clients have found very helpful for guiding their own revisions. Reader reports are what many lit agencies and publishers use to assess a manuscript they're considering signing or buying. And we've just started a new revision planning consultation service, where we IM/skype with clients and walk them through outlining each step of their revisions.