November 12, 2019, 04:35:18 AM

Author Topic: Floundering in marketing - a rant  (Read 9534 times)

Offline asabo

Floundering in marketing - a rant
« on: October 07, 2014, 04:27:41 PM »
I really need to blow off some steam before I can roll my sleeves up and get back into it. I am not good at marketing and I have been trying sooo hard.

Yesterday I spent the whole day checking through websites that I might want to advertise on for an upcoming sale. I made a spreadsheet of how much advance notice required, price, what I get for my money. It was time consuming and overwhelming, but it needed to be done.

At the same time I was feeling guilty because I did no writing and I am falling behind my self-imposed deadlines.

And then I found another bad review. Ugh. This one said I used too many declarative sentences. Really? Okay, good to know.

Everyone says you have to get reviews, so I research reviewers and send out queries and hear nothing. Still sending out queries... I did a giveaway and got a couple bad reviews out of it. But I think it boiled down to them not being my target audience. (So why did they request it?) But the reviewers that appear to be my target audience are drowning in requests. So I end up reaching out to people I don't have that much information on and it's a disaster.

And the good reviews are all spread out 1 in B&N, 1 on Amazon, 1 on GoodReads which doesn't add up to enough to qualify for the better ads.

And it is so hard to fail at something you know you aren't good at (marketing) when you know you have a good product (the book). I read all the tips and try to follow them. I have a limited budget and I am trying to stretch it and...sheesh. It's just a hell of a lot of work.

I learned awhile ago that if I can say out loud "I hate this!" It's a lot easier to get back to work at it. So here's my whiny rant of how hard it all is...and I will go back to doing it all.

Please chime in with your own complaints. Get it off your chest!