December 13, 2019, 12:10:46 AM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Lu Kudzoza

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13
1
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: Name dropping popular authors
« on: December 02, 2019, 05:27:44 PM »

@Justan Henner has never let me down yet. I’m pretty sure I will like his next book no pressure 😀


If you love Justan Henner, you'll love Lu Kudzoza.

Lu Kudzoza likes to read. He hates to write. Oh, just like Justan RR Rothfuss.

2
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: Name dropping popular authors
« on: December 02, 2019, 04:22:26 PM »
In reviews or blurbs....I find this so annoying.

New authors tend to do this to establish a parallel with a popular author, but reviewer's doing this is even more perplexing.

"Fans of Mark Lawrence, Joe Abercrombie and Brandon Sanderson would love this"
or
"Feels like Robert Jordan and GRR Martin sat down together to write this"

Every author has their own writing style and tagging multiple names just feels like cheap advertising and would not have any parallels to any one far less all mentioned authors.

I think it's a good thing. It gives readers a point of reference from which they can start to understand what they're getting into. My wife says she loves famous author references because it helps her quickly narrow her reading list... but she does it just the opposite way @Eclipse does.  :)

3
Whenever I hear Dystopian I turn off having  no interest in those sort of books at all.

I'm a fan of some Dystopian... like Wheel of Time and The Broken Empire. ;D

4
Small Press & Self-Published / Re: Blue Prometheus Series Completed!
« on: November 30, 2019, 06:56:05 PM »
Congrats!

5
Introductions / Re: Well hello there
« on: November 21, 2019, 05:17:34 PM »
Welcome. Hope you enjoy the conversation.

6
If he likes the Sharpe series then he'll probably like The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwell. The books in this series are light, easy, and fun just like Sharpe.

7
Tor is my largest by far.

8
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: What are you currently reading?
« on: October 12, 2019, 05:02:16 PM »
Just started Magician: Apprentice, by Raymond E. Feist.

Be sure to come back and tell us what you think. I haven't read any Feist books and would love to know if they've stood the test of time.

9
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: What are you currently reading?
« on: October 04, 2019, 04:58:43 PM »
Finished Republic of Thieves. Started The Way of Shadows

How was it?  *put down some snacks on the table and pull out a chair, then sit down waiting in anticipation*  ;D

Well, I have mixed feelings. Let me put my comments in spoiler tags :)

Spoiler for Hiden:
I can say that I liked the book. Sabetha was not much of a disturbance to me. I could feel for her unlike Denna. But I would have preferred a better story than the playacting (something that involves thievery). The interludes in the previous books were better than this one.

I also felt like this book was a little bit lighter than its prequels. I felt like the book lacked a little bit depth. And I really disliked how Falconer came back into the game, it was way too easy.

I still give this book 4.5 / 5 though :)

I felt much the same way, but I would have rated it closer to 3.75 or 4.

10
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: What are you currently reading?
« on: September 28, 2019, 03:50:21 PM »

Haha. Sometimes in life you get information that changes everything... including who you are. :)

Did you post that? Or was that not you?  ;D

Now I'm not sure because you've made me question my identity.   :o

11
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: What are you currently reading?
« on: September 27, 2019, 04:02:23 PM »
Side note: @Lu Kudzoza were you 'Not Lu' before? And now you *are* Lu? ;D

Haha. Sometimes in life you get information that changes everything... including who you are. :)

12
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: What are you currently reading?
« on: September 27, 2019, 03:42:09 PM »
I started Republic of Thieves after finishing Red Seas under Red Skies.

Can't wait for your opinion on the book, hahah. The feedback from various people so far have been quite conflicting.  ;D

I seriously hope I'm not facing another Denna-like character :)

Heh, I'm curious what you think too. Some love it and some hate it.

13
Writers' Corner / Re: "She said"
« on: September 22, 2019, 07:55:25 PM »
I think it should always be "he argued."

Prove me wrong.

14
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: Ebooks (and Readers) > Physical books
« on: September 18, 2019, 04:30:57 PM »
I think everyone should be required to post their age with their preference.

I'm 58. I'll read either.
My wife (also 58) can't be troubled with a physical book.
Two of my kids (28 and 32) only use Ebooks.
My other kid (age 30) mostly reads physical books.

So far, no correlation of format preference to age. Oops. :)

15
Fantasy Book & Author Discussion / Re: Ebooks (and Readers) > Physical books
« on: September 18, 2019, 04:26:26 PM »
I wonder, how many of you still write mails? Anyone still smelling the letter? Trying to stay away the screen? Or do you just send an email and notify the receiver with your cell phone :)

Books might be still around but ebook are the future ;D ;D

What?!! You're still using email instead of just text messaging? ;D

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13