February 24, 2020, 03:29:23 PM

See likes

See likes given/taken


Posts you liked

Pages: [1] 2
Post info No. of Likes
Re: Software for Readers and Writers...
I was wondering what software you guys use as readers (e-reading software, book database software)

I use something that is very portable and feels very good in your hands. It looks great on shelves, can be personalised when you meet the author, and supports artists too. It's been around for a while, so you've probably heard about it.

It's called a PAPER BOOK ;D


(sorry, I just couldn't resist!!)

April 02, 2015, 12:39:19 PM
1
Re: Pet Peeves: What makes you put a book down/never pick it up in the first place? Not picking it up in the first place:

1. If it sounds so Grimdark it might as well be a parody. (Now, if it really is a parody of Grimdark, I'd probably love to read it.)

2. If the cover features scantily clad people (this is mostly in the paranormal romance that tries to masquerade as urban fantasy).

Putting it down:

1. If I don't like any of the characters. This is a common problem in Grimdark. Maybe I'm hopelessly backward, but I actually want to read about people that I can root for without reservation.

2. If the pace is glacial. I might keep reading if I'm invested in the characters or world, but slow pacing might actually be the number one thing that makes me put down a book.

3. If the book is confusing. Once again, if I like the characters or there's lots of action, I'll overlook some confusion.

May 10, 2015, 05:54:13 AM
1
Re: Six-Figure Deal for Fantasy Novelist John Gwynne
I think actually that is the advance and so you'd be paid that in a lump sum and then you'd start picking up royalties after that number had been met. So, in some ways although you may end up only getting £33k a year if you perform well you could smash past that quite comfortably.

To earn out 33k per book is quite a feat (you'd need pretty high sales!)

Also as stated, there would be deductions -- 15% to agent, tax etc. And you don't get it all at once. Usually it is one third on signing, one third when you hand in a finished book (ie after edits) and one third on publication. Which actually can be beneficial re tax....

Basically, it's not a fortune really, it's not coming all at once and you never ever expect to get any more than the advance (though if you do, then that's a bonus!

That aside, congrats to the author. A very nice deal.

May 13, 2015, 06:38:41 PM
1
Re: Which Title Appeals To You More?
Agreed once I love a series it could be called revenge of the decaying turds and I would still buy it  8)

I would assume that must people are like that so why would the US publisher insist they change the name. it's not like they are marketing the third book in a series to a new audience. I would have thought the things driving new sales for a series three books in would be word of mouth, shelf space/presence and the cover design not the title. Why make such a fuss about it?


May 20, 2015, 10:25:48 AM
1
Can you be a great writer without being a great writer? Had a cool guest post by Peter Higgins today. I liked it because Peter wrote about how important it was for his ability to come up with ideas and shape his voice that he read widely and thoroughly growing up.

http://fantasy-faction.com/2015/genres-stirring-the-pot

What do you guys think? How important do you think it is that you read a lot / study writing to become a good writer? What benefits do you gain from reading widely? Are there any negatives to having read widely and then writing?

May 22, 2015, 02:20:16 PM
1
Re: A review of Dawn of Wonder by Jonathan Renshaw-amazing book I hope I end up liking it just as much. I downloaded it the other day after reading your praise of it in another thread. I liked your first book, so I figure I can trust you.

I like hearing comparisons to Blood Song, which I loved.

June 03, 2015, 04:27:47 AM
1
Re: What are you currently reading? I finished Firelord and it still remains for me one of the best and almost unique retellings of the Arthurian legend. Godwin managed to combine so much of the original legend and make it sound plausible. I want to keep on rereading, so I've picked up Harry Harrison's The Stainless Steel Rat.
June 18, 2015, 04:05:07 AM
1
Re: What are you currently reading?
I used to love The Stainless Steel Rat, but it's been ages since I read one. They were just fun, easy reading.
Look for a book called Nocturne for a Dangerous Man. I may be a bit fuzzy on stainless steel rat (read long, long ago), but I somehow connect enjoying the one to enjoying this other. If you also like William Gibson and John MacDonald.

June 18, 2015, 12:53:37 PM
1
Re: What are you currently reading? Finished A Crucible of Souls by Mitchell Hogan. This was another great self-published find (though it's about to be published by Harper Voyager now). I really enjoyed it, and it should appeal to fans of Rothfuss and Sanderson.

Full review on my blog: https://ryanwmueller.wordpress.com/2015/07/31/book-review-a-crucible-of-souls-by-mitchell-hogan/

July 31, 2015, 05:45:18 PM
1
Re: Self Published Books - Do you read them?
I've never understood the people who do a drive-by post in Small Press and Self-Published. Do they really expect us to read their books when they've contributed nothing to the community? In my experience, those writers who are actively involved in communities like this are better writers to begin with. I haven't read anything in the Writing Group that I'd say is bad.

But, really, how hard is it to actually contribute something to the community before expecting something in return?

While I agree completely, there's also the other side of things - it's hard to be active in more then 2-3 communities. I'm active in several gaming forums, several fantasy lit forums in my native Bulgarian, and since recently - in several English fantasy forums. As a result, I had to become inactive in some of the Bulgarian ones.

But when it comes to publishing your book, it's stupid not to post about it everywhere. Sure, there's 99.9% certainty that nothing will come out of the communities you weren't active in, but there's 100% if you don't post it. And even if you want to be active there, you simply can't be active everywhere.

Earlier this summer (spring actually) when I first posted in FF about my crowdfunding campaign, it was also my first posting here as a whole. I apologize for that, but it would've been a missed opportunity for me not to promote my campaign wherever I could. And a couple of folks joined it, even tho they had never heard about me. It was after that that I started checking the forum from time to time and grow to like it. Same with Best fantasy books and with SFFWorld. I liked them more then the Bulgarian forums so substituted the ones with the others.

It's just hard, that's all. There are an awful lot of places where you can be active. :) But yeah, as a reader I too ignore almost all promotion, unless they're from someone familiar, so I agree with you.

August 09, 2015, 07:43:06 PM
1