May 30, 2020, 08:04:56 PM

See likes

See likes given/taken


Your posts liked by others

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 18
Post info No. of Likes
Re: Orbit, we need to talk... It's funny. Sanderson works on so many projects besides the Stormlight Archive, and yet he still manages to get them out faster than George RR Martin.
June 08, 2015, 12:54:05 AM
3
Re: What are you currently reading?
Thanks for explaining, Ryan, I assume AzWings is the same.

That is completely the opposite of me, and I assume Raptori is very similar to me :D (organised, logical, sequential mind, lists for almost everything, right? ;))

The funny thing is I'm actually more on the organized and logical side of things. I almost always write with an outline. I'm good at keeping track of when assignments and such are due. I'm more of a math and science person than an English and Literature person (strange for a writer, I know).

I don't know why I've chosen to read the way I do, but it works for me. I really think it is my memory. I can sit something aside for weeks and come back to it without missing a beat.

June 20, 2015, 09:16:52 PM
1
Re: Miscellaneous Musings Apparently, that excerpt isn't actually from the book. Someone made it up. The "dick attack" line is there, though.
June 22, 2015, 05:28:46 PM
1
Re: Miscellaneous Musings Yep, guilty as charged. I love me some cheesy erotica.  ;)

Actually, I just looked it up on Goodreads, and one of the reviews pointed out that the infamous passage was made up.

June 22, 2015, 06:28:31 PM
1
Re: Fantasy-Faction Facebook Group Just joined the group. I don't do that much on Facebook, though.
July 08, 2015, 02:44:42 AM
1
Re: Great New Fantasy Series Welcome to Fantasy Faction!

Your series sounds interesting, but this isn't really the right place for self-promotion. We have a separate self-publishing forum for that. Obviously, you can mention your works every now and then (in the context of a discussion). Just don't mention them so much you seem like you're spamming us. One of the best ways to build readership is to be a quality contributor in various forms of social media. That is, if you contribute to discussions and people like what you have to say, they'll be more likely to check out your work.

Hope you stick around. This is a great site.

July 13, 2015, 02:46:10 AM
5
Re: Looking for books/series similar to ones I've read A lot of Weeks fans also like Brandon Sanderson. I'd suggest starting with Mistborn.

If you like Feist and Dragonlance, you might also give Terry Brooks a try (though I'd suggest beginning with anything other than The Sword of Shannara).

July 19, 2015, 08:14:25 PM
1
Re: Words of Radiance Discussion
When you read the volumes of books Jared does, when the need to rant comes up, you can't help it. It may just be my tastes, but I am yet to find myself disagreeing with any of Jared's reviews. Trust me, he's a good friend as well as my editor, and if he felt if was necessary to put something in a review, it was bloody necessary.


On the subject, this review. I agree with it so hard: http://www.pornokitsch.com/2012/10/brent-weeks-black-prism-blinding-knife.html

Obviously, he and I have different tastes in fantasy. It doesn't surprise me that he doesn't like Weeks, as Weeks has a lot in common with Sanderson, especially with the Lightbringer series.

These kind of reviews irritate me. When I don't like something, I can separate "this is bad" from "this isn't my cup of tea." Most of the time, it's just not my cup of tea. I tend to care less for Grimdark fantasy, but I'm not going to say, "This sucks because the characters are all jerks." I just don't care for those kinds of characters. However, I recognize that some people love those things.

July 25, 2015, 01:41:10 AM
4
Re: Words of Radiance Discussion I'll agree that Sanderson's writing itself is nothing special. The same goes for Weeks. But I'm not really there for the writing. I can appreciate the beautiful prose of someone like Guy Gavriel Kay, but I'm there first and foremost for the story. I'm not there to think about deeper themes and all that. I just want a fast-paced story with characters I can root for and a fantasy world that's interesting.

Sanderson is very good at what he does. What he does might not be for everybody, but that doesn't mean it's bad writing. It's just not a particular person's cup of tea.

July 26, 2015, 03:10:10 AM
2
Re: What are you currently reading? Finished A Crucible of Souls by Mitchell Hogan. This was another great self-published find (though it's about to be published by Harper Voyager now). I really enjoyed it, and it should appeal to fans of Rothfuss and Sanderson.

Full review on my blog: https://ryanwmueller.wordpress.com/2015/07/31/book-review-a-crucible-of-souls-by-mitchell-hogan/

July 31, 2015, 05:45:18 PM
1