July 04, 2020, 12:19:16 AM

Author Topic: Hello from SugoiMe!  (Read 1975 times)

Offline SugoiMe

Hello from SugoiMe!
« on: May 20, 2015, 09:56:45 AM »
Hi everyone!  I'm a Canadian Assistant Language Teacher living in southern Japan, and I'll be moving back to Canada in July.  I stumbled upon the blog for fantasy-faction and was instantly intrigued.  I confess I'm not an avid reader, but I do like LOTR and some of the Dragonlance Series.  I'm in the process of writing an epic trilogy and hope to publish in the next year or two.

Anyway, nice to meet you all and looking forward to contributing to the forums and learning what you all have to say about all things fantasy!
"And then the time came when the risk it took to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom." - Anais Nin

Offline Henry Dale

• The Unsummonable and a Writing Contest Regular
  • Writing Group
  • Gentleman Bastard
    • View Profile
Re: Hello from SugoiMe!
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2015, 12:39:22 AM »
Kon'nichiwa from a forum frequenter currently on a trip through Japan (staying at Nakano, Tokyo atm). Headed home tomorrow though and today is packing day. One of my friends with me would like to teach English in Japan. Any tips on how he should achieve this would be awesome :)

I'm looking forward to hearing more from your trilogy-in-progress, so redirecting you to the discussions in the writer's corner and the monthly competitions is the thing ^^

Henry Dale in Japan

Offline SugoiMe

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2015, 08:45:43 AM »
Wow, Tokyo, that's definitely a whole other world compared to where I'm living.  I'm in the countryside surrounded by rice fields and elderly people. lol  I definitely recommend the JET Program to get into the country's teaching system.  The application process is a gruelling year long thing, but it's definitely worth it.  I live in the mountains, but not too far from an active volcano that spews out ash every day.