June 04, 2020, 03:51:17 PM

Author Topic: Greetings  (Read 1493 times)

Offline The Gem Cutter

• Captain Analogy
  • Writing Group
  • Khaleesi
  • We've exhausted all possibilities - time to begin.
    • View Profile
    • The Gem Cutter Tales
Greetings
« on: August 03, 2016, 08:53:46 PM »
Greetings all, I missed this introduction section when I joined, so I thought I'd give some idea of myself.

I am nearing completion of my first draft of my fantasy novel. My handle comes from that work's intended title "The Gem Cutter's Son". I write in the First Person, and work through the Fourth Wall with great care.

My background is unconventional, including 23 years in the military in some relatively cool assignments ranging from special operations to organizations that Ender Wiggin would certainly recognize - children fighting a virtual war with distant enemies. I was a linguist (Russian and Arabic), a martial artist, and with my unconventional warfare background, I am informed on a wide variety of niche topics: survival, guns, clandestine operations, you name it. I mention all this because I am interested to help writers research for their work, and also because I hate to see writers "get it wrong," whether it's silly and technical or cultural and nuanced. If I can be of service, please let me know.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2016, 01:18:35 AM by The Gem Cutter »
The Gem Cutter
"Each time, there is the same problem: do I dare? And then if you do dare, the dangers are there, and the help also, and the fulfillment or the fiasco. There's always the possibility of a fiasco. But there's also the possibility of bliss." - Joseph Campbell

Offline xiagan

• Writing Contest Organizer
  • Powers That Be
  • Ringbearer
  • Master Procrastinator
    • View Profile
Re: Greetings
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2016, 09:02:29 PM »
Just wow. Nah, that's not right. Welcome, too. :)
"Sire, I had no need of that hypothesis." (Laplace)

Offline ScarletBea