June 17, 2019, 12:00:53 PM

Author Topic: Anyone for a brew?  (Read 989 times)

Offline nettletea

Anyone for a brew?
« on: November 27, 2018, 02:17:11 PM »
Hello! I haven't read much fiction over the last couple of years but have been slowly getting back into it of late. My son is 4 now, so things are "calming down" - as in, he is in bed and asleep at a predictable time every evening now, and sleeps through until morning. Sigh of relief. I recently sat up and cried "Books! I used to love books!"  ;D

Of course I still don't get out as much as I used to, so I've been looking for somewhere to make some friends and discuss books - maybe even join in with some Read Alongs. This place looks comfortable. I can bring my own tea.. :)

I don't know what I'll read first. Now I've remembered that books exist, I feel positively spoilt for choice.. and of course I have no knowledge of what was released in the last five years or so. :)

Offline ScarletBea

• Welcome party and bringer of Cake. 2nd-in-Command of the Writing Contest
  • Powers That Be
  • Big Wee Hag
  • Geeky Reading Introvert
    • View Profile
    • LibraryThing profile
Re: Anyone for a brew?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2018, 02:42:11 PM »
Welcome @nettletea!
You've come to the right place, there's lots to read - you can actually create a thread on the main Discussion area asking for recommendations: if you tell us which books you enjoyed in the past, we will be happy to update you with the latest releases :)

Things have been a bit quiet lately, there hasn't been a regular read along in a while, but that doesn't mean we can't start again.
One thing I do, if I'm reading a book that had a read along in the past, is posting there anyway, and reading the old comments: there's always some oldies who will reply.

I recently sat up and cried "Books! I used to love books!"
;D

We have a pub in the General area: tea is very welcome! 8)
*thinks that it's a good time to go have a cuppa now*