October 17, 2017, 09:32:17 PM

Author Topic: Is it common practice to retype a book to improve prose and vocabulary?  (Read 414 times)

Offline Pandekokoy

Greetings everyone! This would be my very first post, and I'm a bit nervous.

I am new to writing, but I do have lots of ideas and plots for a good book (in my opinion). As you would probably guess, I'm terrible, but eager to improve.

As a heavy metal guitar player, I improve by practicing and learning (through imitation) guitar solos from different musicians.

I was wondering if the same can be applied to improve writing.

If I take an ebook of say, A Wizard of Earthsea and rewrite it word for word, will I learn faster? Sure I would analyze how Leguin writes, but do you guys have any idea if this would be effective? Has anyone tried this before?
« Last Edit: August 10, 2017, 09:27:55 AM by Pandekokoy »

Online Eclipse

• Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
  • Ta'veren
    • View Profile
Re: Is it common practice to retype a book to improve prose and vocabulary?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2017, 09:34:50 AM »
Hi @Pandekokoy glad to see you here and welcome.

Don't be nervous, post away I'm sure one of those writer types were get to you soon
According to some,* heroic deaths are admirable things

* Generally those who don't have to do it.Politicians and writers spring to mind

Jonathan Stroud:Ptolmy's Gate

Offline CameronJohnston

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2017, 10:29:26 AM »
I can't see what help copying it word for word could possibly be to you. If you wrote your own thing and tried to copy the style of that book using her sentence structure etc, then that might be helpful to learn how and why it is done that way.

The best way to learn is to write and get it critiqued by others. I'd suggest short stories, and you can ask for feedback on this very forum!
It is a little nervewracking showing your work to others but well worth it.