September 22, 2019, 11:58:58 PM

Author Topic: Politics and other ailments of the real world  (Read 261961 times)

Offline Neveesandeh

Re: Politics and other ailments of the real world
« Reply #3270 on: August 25, 2019, 12:15:36 PM »
On that subject, I'm a bit curious about Boris Johnson.

I'm no expert on the man, but I've seen several people describe him as possessed of a blind, burning ambition to be prime minister purely for the sake of becoming prime minister, and he's charging full speed towards Brexit purely because it will sit well with the right demographic.

Would you Brits say that's a fair assessment?

Yes. Without a shadow of a doubt, yes.

Offline Rostum

« Reply #3271 on: August 25, 2019, 05:03:40 PM »
Whomever was PM at the moment would be faced with completing a task a large proportion of the UK doesn't want. it makes it hard to represent the country as a whole. That said he has done little to show the world he is a statesman of any calibre. My main concern is having failed to negotiated a deal with Europe he will then sell the nation to America in yet another one sided trade deal forcing sub-standard foodstuffs on us and allowing American firms to carve up the NHS.

After losing the ensuing general election he will swan into a non job in America the way Tony Blair did to make his millions.

Offline ScarletBea

• Welcome party and bringer of Cake. 2nd-in-Command of the Writing Contest
  • Powers That Be
  • Big Wee Hag
  • Geeky Reading Introvert
    • View Profile
    • LibraryThing profile
« Reply #3272 on: August 28, 2019, 06:46:11 PM »
And when I thought it couldn't get worse...

(I'm sooo naive ::) )

:'(
At home in the Fantasy Faction forum!

"Let us think the unthinkable, let us do the undoable. Let us prepare to grapple with the ineffable itself, and see if we may not eff it after all" - Douglas Adams

Offline xiagan

• Writing Contest Organizer
  • Powers That Be
  • Elderling
  • Master Procrastinator
    • View Profile