August 25, 2019, 02:18:15 AM

Author Topic: Jobs or Degrees outside of Writing?  (Read 6177 times)

Offline Revan

Re: Jobs or Degrees outside of Writing?
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2015, 12:34:08 AM »
Doing my master thesis in computer science.

Planning to start a PhD in AI/Machine Learning, next year.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2015, 12:35:59 AM by Revan »

Offline Mr.J

• Anus Dracula formerly known as Arse Demon and Writing Contest Regular
  • Writing Group
  • Gentleman Bastard
  • Tweedy impertinence
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2015, 01:46:03 AM »
I have an English Literature degree. Hard to believe right?

And I'm trying to get into publishing, its tough though, often unsure if I can actually achieve getting into it or not.
Working at a big store atm to make (albeit shit) money for the time being.

Offline ultamentkiller

« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2015, 03:10:29 AM »
I'm not into college yet, but I'm planning on getting a bachelor's in media communications, and possibly continuing on to a masters in sound engineering. I could change my mind later on, but that's how it looks now.
My ultimate goal is to have my own morning show on either satellite or FM radio. That's where the communications comes in. Sound engineering can help me get my foot in the door of a station hopefully. They say most people don't start out with the jobs they want. If that fails though, I've always loved mixing audio. I have a friend who is a producer, and have learned a lot from him. I'm no expert, but when I'm watching him work, I can tell him to do this or that to produce this type of effect. And, with that career, there are potentially high paying jobs available. So we'll see.