September 21, 2019, 04:43:55 PM

Author Topic: How do you decide what to read next?  (Read 4348 times)

Offline Autumn2May

  • Word Mage
  • Administrator
  • Khaleesi
  • ***
  • Posts: 2850
  • Total likes: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • Does the noise in my head bother you?
    • View Profile
    • The Write Way To Type - Writing Blog
How do you decide what to read next?
« on: January 17, 2011, 06:43:07 PM »
I finally almost done with writing my story.  When I finish I plan on taking a break from writing for a while and catching up on my reading.  The problem is I have no idea where to start!  When you finish a book (that's not a series) or you come back from a long bought of not reading, how do you decide which book to start with?  The last book I read was one of the Pern books and it was more then 3-1/2 years ago!  Any help or suggestions would be good. :)

Bryndled1

  • Guest
Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 07:28:11 PM »
after a long sabbatical of not reading I usually start with a beloved favorite. after Ive devoured that I usually get traded something with my best friend or get some advice from here =D

Offline Sanna

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 07:31:49 PM »
Old favourites to start, then see what friends have read recently (and finished/willing to loan).
I read a load of the Pern books last year, for the first time, after borrowing them from a friend.
I've just finished LOTR again, for the god-knows how many timeth.
Blog --> Short stories based in Tefr RPG. See the Work to be critiqued section for samples.

Offline Overlord

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2011, 04:46:30 AM »
Start with something everyone says is brilliant and you can't go far wrong... I'd pick something up I'm almost guaranteed to like if I hadn't read in a while just to get me back into things.

For you I'd recommend 'Black Magician Trilogy' by Trudi Canavan because it is easy reading and pretty much guaranteed to be enjoyed... it's also a good example of where Fantasy is right now... Fluent and yet still Epic.
Founder: http://fantasy-faction.com
Editor: Fantasy-Faction Anthology (Aug 2014)
Author: "Son of…" in 1853 (2013)
Host: Fantasy-Faction's Grim Gathering

Offline missoularedhead

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2011, 06:23:33 AM »
Oh, wow.  The idea of NOT reading…that scares me.   ;)

Perhaps that's why I have a rule about reading for at least 15 minutes every night.  Doesn't matter what, as long as I read something.  It has to do with spending my days immersed in FACT…I need to get out of my head for a bit.  That said, I guess I pick what I'm going to read next from the stack of 'not yet read' books.  I look at the recommends here, on Amazon, friends, whatever….and go from there.  I get antsy when I don't have something new to read.
"Well behaved women rarely make history" ~Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

Offline ChristinaJL

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2011, 08:46:35 AM »
Have a look on goodreads too, it's quite useful for reviews etc.  Or go to your library and just pick one off the shelf, that's what I did when I moved here and had more time to read.  Think it was Raymond Feist's Magician that got me back into reading on a more regular basis.

Offline Autumn2May

  • Word Mage
  • Administrator
  • Khaleesi
  • ***
  • Posts: 2850
  • Total likes: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • Does the noise in my head bother you?
    • View Profile
    • The Write Way To Type - Writing Blog
Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2011, 05:55:48 PM »
Have a look on goodreads too, it's quite useful for reviews etc.  Or go to your library and just pick one off the shelf, that's what I did when I moved here and had more time to read.  Think it was Raymond Feist's Magician that got me back into reading on a more regular basis.

I'm afraid to look on Goodreads for too long.  I get stuck there! :)

Offline AlexEatsBooks

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2011, 06:17:35 PM »
My problem is that I have TOO MUCH to choose from, so when I finish a book I have quite a bit of trouble picking what to read next. Generally I narrow it down to the top 5 or 6 on my list and do an 'eeny meeny miney moe' *laughs*
Even if it's remembered, a dream is just a dream.
Book Blog: http://www.alexeatsbooks.blogspot.com

Offline ChristinaJL

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2011, 08:33:13 AM »
I'm afraid to look on Goodreads for too long.  I get stuck there! :)

Me too!!   :D

Offline Overlord

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2011, 10:35:41 AM »
My problem is that I have TOO MUCH to choose from, so when I finish a book I have quite a bit of trouble picking what to read next. Generally I narrow it down to the top 5 or 6 on my list and do an 'eeny meeny miney moe' *laughs*

Same here... I have piles and piles of books these days... sometimes it makes me think; 'eck...' and loathe having to read some things I don't want to but other times it spurs me on. I love reading but one thing I hate about reading is starting a book and when you read as fast as most of us guys do, you get a lot of starts ;)

The first 100 pages of any novel tends to be a struggle for me but from there it is clean sailing... one reason I tend to read a series back to back rather than have a break.
Founder: http://fantasy-faction.com
Editor: Fantasy-Faction Anthology (Aug 2014)
Author: "Son of…" in 1853 (2013)
Host: Fantasy-Faction's Grim Gathering

Offline Autumn2May

  • Word Mage
  • Administrator
  • Khaleesi
  • ***
  • Posts: 2850
  • Total likes: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • Does the noise in my head bother you?
    • View Profile
    • The Write Way To Type - Writing Blog
Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2011, 03:50:10 PM »
My problem is that I have TOO MUCH to choose from, so when I finish a book I have quite a bit of trouble picking what to read next. Generally I narrow it down to the top 5 or 6 on my list and do an 'eeny meeny miney moe' *laughs*

Same here... I have piles and piles of books these days... sometimes it makes me think; 'eck...' and loathe having to read some things I don't want to but other times it spurs me on. I love reading but one thing I hate about reading is starting a book and when you read as fast as most of us guys do, you get a lot of starts ;)

The first 100 pages of any novel tends to be a struggle for me but from there it is clean sailing... one reason I tend to read a series back to back rather than have a break.

I've always read series back to back.  Mostly because I've never started a series that wasn't finished yet. :)  I think I'll try the 'eeny meeny miney moe' method.  Of course first I have to narrow it down. ;)

Offline ganstream1

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2011, 04:05:06 PM »
I read reviews from websites. From there I lists out the book I find interesting and searched for the author's website. Then I'd look at the covers. After all that's done will only I choose what to read next.

That is if I have the time.

If I'm desperate for something new, I just grab what cover intrigues me the most at the bookstore, read the back blurb and pray I didn't pick the crap out of the crop.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2011, 07:12:01 PM by ganstream1 »

Offline AlexEatsBooks

Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2011, 05:25:58 PM »
My problem is that I have TOO MUCH to choose from, so when I finish a book I have quite a bit of trouble picking what to read next. Generally I narrow it down to the top 5 or 6 on my list and do an 'eeny meeny miney moe' *laughs*

Same here... I have piles and piles of books these days... sometimes it makes me think; 'eck...' and loathe having to read some things I don't want to but other times it spurs me on. I love reading but one thing I hate about reading is starting a book and when you read as fast as most of us guys do, you get a lot of starts ;)

The first 100 pages of any novel tends to be a struggle for me but from there it is clean sailing... one reason I tend to read a series back to back rather than have a break.

I've always read series back to back.  Mostly because I've never started a series that wasn't finished yet. :)  I think I'll try the 'eeny meeny miney moe' method.  Of course first I have to narrow it down. ;)

I really should read series back to back... Lately I've only read the first in a series but then get caught up in another book/series and never seem to get back to them - despite my best intentions!
That's the problem working in a bookshop - if you've at least read the first in a series then you can sell it, lol. I want to read everything ^.^
Even if it's remembered, a dream is just a dream.
Book Blog: http://www.alexeatsbooks.blogspot.com

Offline Eclipse

  • Warning: this topic has not been posted in for at least 120 days.
  • Dragonrider
  • ***
  • Posts: 4238
  • Total likes: 2117
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2019, 10:10:52 PM »
Sometimes I pick the book with the most pages and it feels really satisfying when I’ve got through a huge tome other times I pick the book which has been on my tbr pile the longest or sometimes I just read a favourite author.

@AlexEatsBooks

I like reading series back to back
According to some,* heroic deaths are admirable things

* Generally those who don't have to do it.Politicians and writers spring to mind

Jonathan Stroud:Ptolmy's Gate

Offline xiagan

  • Writing Contest Organizer
  • Powers That Be
  • Elderling
  • *
  • Posts: 5935
  • Total likes: 2586
  • Gender: Male
  • Master Procrastinator
    • View Profile
Re: How do you decide what to read next?
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2019, 09:01:43 PM »
Sometimes I pick the book with the most pages and it feels really satisfying when I’ve got through a huge tome other times I pick the book which has been on my tbr pile the longest or sometimes I just read a favourite author.

@AlexEatsBooks

I like reading series back to back
Eight years! Wow, this is a worthy post, @Eclipse;D
"Sire, I had no need of that hypothesis." (Laplace)