December 15, 2019, 05:50:42 PM

Author Topic: Favorite Christian Fantasy Authors  (Read 2987 times)

Offline ultamentkiller

Re: Favorite Christian Fantasy Authors
« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2018, 07:31:17 PM »
I studied Mormonism for fun this year, and if you read Sanderson's books, it's pretty loaded with Mormon theology. I didn't notice when I read them, but thinking back to my research, now I see it all. Mormons aren't regarded as Christians by most people, but they consider themselves to be so there's that. McClellan's books don't have any at all though, which is slightly surprising since he's a former student of Sanderson from BYU.

That's really interesting! I've always wondered about how much Mormon stuff there was in the Wheel of Time as well, but I don't know enough to pick out anything except the multiple-wives element.
I haven't read the Sandersons, but if theres Mormonism he must have introduced it because I don't  think Jordan was Mormon. A number of popular fantasy authors are Mormon, though. Tracy Hickman and Shannon Hale are 2 I only recently became aware are Mormons.
That doesn't surprise me at all about the multiple Fantasy author thing. There's definitely a lot of misconceptions about Mormonism in general, but when you start digging deep you can see elements of a potential Fantasy story happening on another world in there. I can't think of a better example than the Cosmere though. Everything we know about it so far is heavily rooted in Mormonism, and I expect once we get to the beginning and the end of that universe it will solidify as such.

Online Nighteyes

• Send me Leopard Erotica.
  • Ringbearer
  • OH WOW! JUST WORKED OUT HOW TO DO THIS!!!!!
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 19, 2018, 08:01:09 PM »