December 09, 2019, 02:05:11 PM

Author Topic: Fantasy genre - a male preserve?  (Read 11625 times)

Offline Sherwood H Smith

Fantasy genre - a male preserve?
« on: September 03, 2013, 11:57:46 AM »
As the female half of a fantasy writing partnership (The Vispadjinn by Sherwood H Smith) I am intrigued as to why it seems that mainly males both read and write the fantasy genre. Is it because the books are often action/plot predominant with less emphasis on character/emotions? Are fantasy novels written by female authors different? Can you tell the gender of the author if the name doesn't give it away?
I always hate to confirm a stereotype but in our partnership my preserve has been mainly to deepen the characters, introduce some empathy etc. I have to admit that although I enjoy reading fantasy(as well as writing it!) I certainly don't read it to the exclusion of all else. That may be because in my other life I'm a teacher so have to read a lot of classic novels.
I'd be fascinated to get others' views on this.

Offline AnneLyle

Re: Fantasy genre - a male preserve?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2013, 12:11:14 PM »
In my experience, the overall readership is pretty much 50/50 - certainly that's the approximate split at events like Eastercon. There's this pervasive image of SFF as a male preserve that simply isn't borne out by the facts. If you include paranormal romance as a subgenre of SFF (I'd argue it's primarily a subgenre of romance), then the balance probably tips towards women...

That said, I'm sure there are subgenres that appeal more to men than women (e.g. military SF), and vice versa. But as a woman writing epic-ish* historical fantasy, my audience is roughly half-and-half, I reckon, going by the reviews on Goodreads. Sure there are a few Neanderthals who won't buy a book with a woman's name on the cover, but they're in the minority (and they'd probably object to the gay characters and romance I put into my books, anyway!).