March 27, 2017, 07:43:07 AM

Author Topic: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?  (Read 3753 times)

Offline Jonny_Anonymous

  • Builder
  • ******
  • Posts: 141
  • Total likes: 6
  • Gender: Male
  • Bring Us The Girl And Wipe Away The Debt
    • View Profile
Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« on: August 02, 2015, 06:01:45 PM »
It's that time again Jon_Anon asking for more book recommendations ;D So I was wondering if anybody has played the game Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind and if so do they know of any books similar to it?

Now if you have only played Oblivion or Skyrim then you might be under the impression that the Elder Scrolls series is a fun but pretty generic fantasy setting but that's really not true especially when it comes to Morrowind.
 Morrowind sits apart because of how unique and alien the environment is. Morrowind is an inhospitable land of volcanic ash deserts and salt-swamps with big fungus\mushroom trees and it is filled with weird creatures such as the giant flying jellyfish-like Netch, large two legged lizards called Guar and half crab half humanoids called the Dreugh. Below the surface of Morrowind there are huge underground cities filled with highly advanced technology that have been abandoned by a forgotten race called the Dwemer. The whole place is like a Lovecraftian High Fantasy combined with a Post Apocalypse.

And it's not just the landscape that makes it unique but also the culture of the people who live there called the Dunmer (Dark Elves). The game takes heavy inspiration from Vedic and Semitic religions as well as Thelemic philosophy and mysticism. Also a lot of visual inspiration was taken from Babylonian as well as other Near and Far East civilisations.

Here are a few pictures and music so you can get a feel for what I mean:

  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTaOdXy9szE&index=1&list=PLWtocHfXtQqAm2XRjh4UDOlkmq39ljAEF

img04.deviantart.net/283c/i/2012/317/7/e/ald__ruhn_by_lelek1980-d4exr20.jpg

www.superbwallpapers.com/games/the-elder-scrolls-iii-morrowind-26696/

orig07.deviantart.net/d578/f/2013/291/8/3/nerevarine_by_inrin-d6qwob4.jpg

yjwob44rjng25ecfxobec112.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/1305194242_fullres.jpg

40.media.tumblr.com/0fa0d31a66eedcb9a21387b921f7b5ee/tumblr_mj0gbnMwhe1ro7fpzo3_1280.jpg

img04.deviantart.net/8ca4/i/2012/034/2/c/vivec_sunset_by_swietopelk-d4oi43o.jpg

img4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20140624050239/elderscrolls/images/b/bc/VivecC0DA.png

Sorry I couldn't embed them, for some reason I can't get it to work.   :-\
“There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for ever should we fail- should we fall- we will know that we have lived.”


? Anomander Rake

Offline Yora

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2015, 11:26:06 PM »
I should write something like this. Morrowind has always been a huge inspiration for my ideas of a fantasy world.
Spriggan's Den

There is nothing to read!

Offline Jonny_Anonymous

  • Builder
  • ******
  • Posts: 141
  • Total likes: 6
  • Gender: Male
  • Bring Us The Girl And Wipe Away The Debt
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2015, 05:05:40 PM »
I should write something like this. Morrowind has always been a huge inspiration for my ideas of a fantasy world.

You should, I'd like to read that.
“There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for ever should we fail- should we fall- we will know that we have lived.”


? Anomander Rake

Offline Jonny_Anonymous

  • Builder
  • ******
  • Posts: 141
  • Total likes: 6
  • Gender: Male
  • Bring Us The Girl And Wipe Away The Debt
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2015, 06:53:47 PM »
Anybody got any?
“There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for ever should we fail- should we fall- we will know that we have lived.”


? Anomander Rake

Offline Alex Hormann

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2015, 07:43:30 PM »
I can't think of anything particularly close, but The Stormlight Archive is quite an alien world and The Vagrant reminded me a little of Solstheim from Dragonborn.

Offline Yora

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2015, 09:14:31 PM »
That's not the same... No big mushroom trees, giant crab shell houses, or big beetles as public transportation.  ;D
Spriggan's Den

There is nothing to read!

Offline JoeWalter

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2015, 05:12:01 AM »
Hmm, it's actually science fiction, but that first picture you posted is always what I imagined Arrakis would look like in Dune. And no giant beetles, but they ride around on massive worms through the desert.

Similarities probably stop there, though. I'm not too familiar with Morrowind to say.

I would second Stormlight Archive though if you haven't read it. The world is very unique - ravaged by ridiculous storms, and everything has evolved because of it. The grass retracts itself below the dirt whenever a storm comes, the plants coil themselves back with stone-like shells to protect themselves. There are giant spider crab like monsters that play major roles, there are creatures called chulls that are slow but strong that they use for transportation and a mysterious race of people that are very, very interesting. Really there is a ton more than all that too. It might not be similar in setting and all that to Morrowind, but in terms of an alien world and unique culture and things like that, it is really in depth and well done.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2015, 05:19:13 AM by JoeWalter »

Offline Yora

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2015, 10:29:11 AM »
That being said, Dark Sun might kind of fit the bill. A little bit.

Sadly I've heard the novels aren't very good. I tried The Brazen Gambit and it's one of the few books I stopped reading about a third in.
Spriggan's Den

There is nothing to read!

Offline Jonny_Anonymous

  • Builder
  • ******
  • Posts: 141
  • Total likes: 6
  • Gender: Male
  • Bring Us The Girl And Wipe Away The Debt
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2015, 12:34:38 AM »
Stormlight is a good suggestion world-wise but what about the culture? Like I said one of the big attractions to Morrowind is how it went heavy with it's inspirations from mysticism and eastern cultures and religions like judeo, Vedic and Assyrian.
“There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for ever should we fail- should we fall- we will know that we have lived.”


? Anomander Rake

Offline JoeWalter

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2015, 02:26:21 AM »
Stormlight is a good suggestion world-wise but what about the culture? Like I said one of the big attractions to Morrowind is how it went heavy with it's inspirations from mysticism and eastern cultures and religions like judeo, Vedic and Assyrian.

Well as I said, I don't know enough about Morrowind (or those cultures/religions) to make an educated opinion. That being said, there is definitely a ton of description towards the cultures Sanderson creates in the novels. I'm not sure as to the inspirations he created them with. There are races of people who won't walk on stone because they believe it's blasphemous, others who believe the highest calling in to be a warrior, some who think being a warrior is the lowest calling, more who have a caste system based on eye color. There's much more than this, and I'm certain I am making it sound far more shallow than it is, but it's been a while since I read them.

Offline vgunn

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2015, 02:07:51 PM »
Greg Keyes wrote a couple official Elder Scrolls tie-in novels: The Infernal City is the first one and has a Dunmer character.

Raymond E. Feist's Serpent War novels.

While not the same, there are some similarities with the Drizzt novels of R.A. Salvatore that give off a Morrowind vibe--especially the Underdark. If you haven't read them, I'd give them a look.

Dissolution by Richard Lee Byers, the start of the War of the Spider Queen series.

The Shattered Land by Keith Baker.

Robert Earl's Burning Shore features Lizardmen and the Warhammer setting in parts can feel like Morrowind.

Temple of the Serpent by C.L. Werner.

Hope this helps!

Offline Yora

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2015, 05:49:17 PM »
Dissolution by Richard Lee Byers, the start of the War of the Spider Queen series.
The entire series might be worth looking into. When I read it some years back, I liked it quite a lot. Since each book is written by a different author, some are much less good than others (I think particularly towards the middle), but the whole story arc is quite interesting. And it deals almost entirely with strange cultures in unnatural environments, and at times even gets a bit surreal.

Might be worth a shot.
Spriggan's Den

There is nothing to read!

Offline Yora

Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2015, 08:49:00 PM »
I think I got one. (Actually did a few weeks back.)

The Book of Hyperborea by Clark Ashton Smith. The only bad thing about it is that it's rather short. There is also Zothique, which I've heard to be similar, though it takes place on Earth during the last centuries or decades before the death of the sun, when the planet has become a world of magic and monsters.

Another book that somehow completely slipped by is A Princess of Mars by Edgar Burroughs. It's technically Mars and they have radium rifles and radium pistols (which in practice seem more flintlock than laser), but other than that it's a full blown fantasy setting. Dark Sun seems like a direct ripoff and even if the makers of Morrowind did not take inspirations from it directly, the province still seems to be very strongly influenced by ideas first popularized by it.
And there's a whole series of books.
Spriggan's Den

There is nothing to read!

Offline Jonny_Anonymous

  • Builder
  • ******
  • Posts: 141
  • Total likes: 6
  • Gender: Male
  • Bring Us The Girl And Wipe Away The Debt
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2016, 12:25:33 PM »
May as well bump this as I have yet to find a books that fulfills this void in my life. I read Way of Kings and got about quarter of the way through Words of Radiance and honestly I don't think I'm going to read anymore. On one hand I really like the world but on the other hand it kind of reminds me of a bad anime.
“There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for ever should we fail- should we fall- we will know that we have lived.”


? Anomander Rake

Offline ScarletBea

  • Positive Invisible Fighter - and bringer of Cake. 2nd in Command of the Writing Contest
  • Writing Group
  • Big Wee Hag
  • ******
  • Posts: 7103
  • Total likes: 4239
  • Gender: Female
  • Geeky Reading Introvert
    • View Profile
    • LibraryThing profile
Re: Fantasy Books Similar To Morrowind?
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2016, 12:45:25 PM »
I don't know Morrowind, but reading your initial post, I think you might like the Vagrant, by Peter Newman.

Morrowind sits apart because of how unique and alien the environment is. Morrowind is an inhospitable land of volcanic ash deserts and salt-swamps with big fungus\mushroom trees and it is filled with weird creatures such as the giant flying jellyfish-like Netch, large two legged lizards called Guar and half crab half humanoids called the Dreugh. Below the surface of Morrowind there are huge underground cities filled with highly advanced technology that have been abandoned by a forgotten race called the Dwemer. The whole place is like a Lovecraftian High Fantasy combined with a Post Apocalypse.
At home in the Fantasy Faction forum!
"A book is as dangerous as any journey you might take. The person who closes the back cover may not be the same one that opened the front one." Mark Lawrence ("Red Sister")

Tags:
 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
21 Replies
16783 Views
Last post July 03, 2015, 04:18:27 AM
by Annomander Matt
8 Replies
4361 Views
Last post June 20, 2015, 01:49:21 AM
by Jmack
14 Replies
2485 Views
Last post July 23, 2015, 02:46:28 AM
by Elfy
6 Replies
1007 Views
Last post November 02, 2015, 06:48:41 AM
by Lady_Ty
4 Replies
202 Views
Last post February 23, 2017, 11:37:21 PM
by Rostum