November 13, 2019, 09:02:53 PM

Author Topic: Book Recommendation  (Read 3363 times)

Offline Leoleoni

Book Recommendation
« on: January 17, 2016, 09:26:10 PM »
Hey Guys

I would be happy, if you could recommendate some books for me. I'm quite new to Fantasy books.

The First was the "A Song of Ice and Fire" serie and I very like it. After this serie, I've read the First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie. Well, what should I say. After all that hype around the ASOIF novels, I didn't thought that I would read a Trilogy, which I enjoyed as much as the first named.

After these two followed the Mistborn Trilogy and the Farseer Trilogy. Of these, I found the Mistborn a bit more enjoyable, but it's close. These two were good, but I liked the first two better with the intrigues and so.

In the moment I have "The Ways of Kings"  and am 70% throught, with the next book to read after it. Well, here it's the same like the both above. It's sure a good book, but for me not as good as the first two.

Now I don't know which next after "Words of Radiance". I think about the Novels from Joe Abercrombie, but I don't know if they are also good or not. (Every other was  at least a Trilogy)

It would be nice, if you could make some Recommendations which are a bit like the fist two of my list.

I hope my englist isn't all to bad, it isn't my native language.

Leo

« Last Edit: January 17, 2016, 09:36:13 PM by Leoleoni »

Offline Rostum

Re: Book Recommendation
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2016, 10:52:57 PM »
Hello and welcome to the site

If you enjoyed first law trilogy you will enjoy the Joes books in the same world. Red Country, Heroes and Best served cold.

If you are up to reading in English there are free J.Abercrombie stories here:

http://www.tor.com/2016/01/12/twos-company-joe-abercrombie/

and here:

http://fantasy-faction.com/2013/some-desperado-short-story-by-joe-abercrombie

Offline Revan

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2016, 11:00:31 PM »