Leather and Lace by Magen Cubed

Leather and Lace

New Release Review

The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart

The Bone Shard Daughter


First, Become Ashes by K.M. Szpara

First, Become Ashes

ARC Review


Hugo 2015 Award Winners

2015 Hugo AwardTonight the winners of the 2015 Hugo Awards were announced, along with the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. Congratulations to all the winners!

And if you are interested in how close the race was this year, you can check out the voting stats here.

Best Novel

The Three Body Problem, Cixin Liu, Ken Liu translator (Tor Books)

Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie (Orbit US/Orbit UK)
The Dark Between the Stars, Kevin J. Anderson (Tor Books)
The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison (Sarah Monette) (Tor Books)
Skin Game, Jim Butcher (Orbit UK/Roc Books)

Monster Hunter Nemesis, Larry Correia (Declined nomination)
Lines of Departure, Marko Kloos (Declined nomination)

Best Novella

No Award

Big Boys Don’t Cry, Tom Kratman (Castalia House)
– “Flow”, Arlan Andrews, Sr. (Analog, 11-2014)
One Bright Star to Guide Them, John C. Wright (Castalia House)
– “Pale Realms of Shade”, John C. Wright (The Book of Feasts & Seasons, Castalia House)
– “The Plural of Helen of Troy”, John C. Wright (City Beyond Time: Tales of the Fall of Metachronopolis, Castalia House)

Best Novelette

“The Day the World Turned Upside Down”, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Lia Belt translator (Lightspeed, 04-2014)

– “Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium”, Gray Rinehart (Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show, 05-2014)
– “Championship B’tok”, Edward M. Lerner (Analog, 09-2014)
– “The Journeyman: In the Stone House”, Michael F. Flynn (Analog, 06-2014)
– “The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale”, Rajnar Vajra (Analog, 07/08-2014)

Best Short Story

No Award

– “On A Spiritual Plain”, Lou Antonelli (Sci Phi Journal #2, 11-2014)
– “The Parliament of Beasts and Birds”, John C. Wright (The Book of Feasts & Seasons, Castalia House)
– “A Single Samurai”, Steven Diamond (The Baen Big Book of Monsters, Baen Books)
– “Totaled”, Kary English (Galaxy’s Edge Magazine, 07-2014)
– “Turncoat”, Steve Rzasa (Riding the Red Horse, Castalia House)

– “Goodnight Stars”, Annie Bellet (Declined Nomination)

Best Related Work

No Award

– “The Hot Equations: Thermodynamics and Military SF”, Ken Burnside (Riding the Red Horse, Castalia House)
Letters from Gardner, Lou Antonelli (The Merry Blacksmith Press)
Transhuman and Subhuman: Essays on Science Fiction and Awful Truth, John C. Wright (Castalia House)
– “Why Science is Never Settled”, Tedd Roberts (Baen.com)
Wisdom from My Internet, Michael Z. Williamson (Patriarchy Press)

Best Graphic Story

Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal, written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Adrian Alphona and Jake Wyatt, (Marvel Comics)

Rat Queens Volume 1: Sass and Sorcery, written by Kurtis J. Weibe, art by Roc Upchurch (Image Comics)
Saga Volume 3, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics))
Sex Criminals Volume 1: One Weird Trick, written by Matt Fraction, art by Chip Zdarsky (Image Comics)
The Zombie Nation Book #2: Reduce Reuse Reanimate, Carter Reid (The Zombie Nation)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Guardians of the Galaxy

Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Live Die Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow
The Lego Movie

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Orphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried”

Doctor Who: “Listen”
The Flash: “Pilot”
Game of Thrones: “The Mountain and the Viper”
Grimm: “Once We Were Gods”

Best Editor, Short Form

No Award

– Jennifer Brozek
– Vox Day
– Mike Resnick
– Bryan Thomas Schmidt

– Edmund R. Schubert (Withdrew after ballot finalized)

Best Editor, Long Form

No Award

– Vox Day
– Sheila Gilbert
– Jim Minz
– Anne Sowards
– Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Artist

Julie Dillon

– Kirk DouPonce
– Nick Greenwood
– Alan Pollack
– Carter Reid

Best Semiprozine

Lightspeed Magazine, edited by John Joseph Adams, Stefan Rudnicki, Rich Horton, Wendy N. Wagner, and Christie Yant

Abyss & Apex, Wendy Delmater editor and publisher
Andromeda Spaceways In-Flight Magazine, Andromeda Spaceways Publishing Association Incorporated, 2014 editors David Kernot and Sue Bursztynski
Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews
Strange Horizons, Niall Harrison, editor-in-chief

Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show, edited by Edmund R. Schubert (Withdrawn)

Best Fanzine

Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Colin Harris, Alissa McKersie, and Helen J. Montgomery

Elitist Book Reviews, edited by Steven Diamond
The Revenge of Hump Day, edited by Tim Bolgeo
Tangent SF Online, edited by Dave Truesdale

Black Gate, edited by John O’Neill (Withdrew after ballot finalized)

Best Fancast

Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)

Adventures in SciFi Publishing, Brent Bower (Executive Producer), Kristi Charish, Timothy C. Ward & Moses Siregar III (Co-Hosts, Interviewers and Producers)
Dungeon Crawlers Radio, Daniel Swenson (Producer/Host), Travis Alexander & Scott Tomlin (Hosts), Dale Newton (Host/Tech), Damien Swenson (Audio/Video Tech)
The Sci Phi Show, Jason Rennie
Tea and Jeopardy, Emma Newman and Peter Newman

Best Fan Writer

Laura J. Mixon

– Dave Freer
– Amanda S. Green
– Jeffro Johnson
– Cedar Sanderson

– Matthew David Surridge (Declined Nomination)

Best Fan Artist

Elizabeth Leggett

– Ninni Aalto
– Brad W. Foster
– Spring Schoenhuth
– Steve Stiles

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2013 or 2014, sponsored by Dell Magazines. (Not a Hugo Award, but administered along with the Hugo Awards.)

Wesley Chu*

– Jason Cordova
– Kary English*
– Rolf Nelson
– Eric S. Raymond

*Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility.

Congratulations again to all the winners!


Leave a Comment