Big List of Julia’s Favourite Amazing Female SFF Authors

Article / Review

Glass Rhapsody by Sarah Chorn

Glass Rhapsody


Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off #7: The First Five Fall

The First Five Fall

Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off #7


British Fantasy Society Award Nominees and a THANK YOU!

BFS_Logo_(grey)So, something incredible happened AGAIN yesterday. For the second year in a row Fantasy-Faction has been nominated for the British Fantasy Society Award in the category of Non-Fiction!

For those unfamiliar with the British Fantasy Society’s awards, votes in various categories are taken from BFS members and those who attended or are signed up for their linked conventions (in this case it was FantasyCon 2012 and those registered for FantasyCon 2014). The top four voted for in each category automatically make the short-list  and the juries can then choose to add up to two more nominees in each category as “egregious omissions”.

Before I reproduce the list of nominees in its entirety below, I just wanted to say how incredibly honoured I am and say a huge thank you to everyone who voted for us or has visited the site over the past 4 years.

Although it was me who created the site back in 2010, Fantasy-Faction is no longer ‘my blog’. Over the years Fantasy-Faction has grown, spiralled out of control and become this huge thing that no longer belongs to any one individual. Fantasy-Faction is a community in every sense of the word. The content comes from contributors who are located from just about every corner of the globe, visitors accessing the site over the past 12 months have come from over 226 countries (I didn’t even know there was that many countries!!!) and we are promoted by not only our readers through Twitter, but fellow bloggers, authors and publishers too.

So, you will understand my reluctance to take much credit for this award. Although my name is next to the nomination, in actuality there should be tens of thousands of other names alongside mine too.

Now, here’s the full list I promised you:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)
Between Two Thorns, Emma Newman (Angry Robot)
Blood and Feathers: Rebellion, Lou Morgan (Solaris)
The Glass Republic, Tom Pollock (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman (Headline)
A Stranger in Olondria, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer Press)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)
House of Small Shadows, Adam Nevill (Pan)
Mayhem, Sarah Pinborough (Jo Fletcher Books)
NOS4R2, Joe Hill (Gollancz)
Path of Needles, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Shining Girls, Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
The Year of the Ladybird, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Novella
Beauty, Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
Dogs With Their Eyes Shut, Paul Meloy (PS Publishing)
Spin, Nina Allan (TTA Press)
Vivian Guppy and the Brighton Belle, Nina Allan (Rustblind and Silverbright)
Whitstable, Stephen Volk (Spectral Press)

Best Short Story
Chalk, Pat Cadigan (This Is Horror)
Death Walks En Pointe, Thana Niveau (The Burning Circus)
Family Business, Adrian Tchaikovsky (The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic)
The Fox, Conrad Williams (This Is Horror)
Golden Apple, Sophia McDougall (The Lowest Heaven)
Moonstruck, Karin Tidbeck (Shadows & Tall Trees #5)
Signs of the Times, Carole Johnstone (Black Static #33)

Best Collection
For Those Who Dream Monsters, Anna Taborska (Mortbury Press)
Holes for Faces, Ramsey Campbell (Dark Regions Press)
Monsters in the Heart, Stephen Volk (Gray Friar Press)
North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer Press)

Best Anthology
End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)
Fearie Tales, Stephen Jones (ed.) (Jo Fletcher Books)
Rustblind and Silverbright, David Rix (ed.) (Eibonvale Press)
Tales of Eve, Mhairi Simpson (ed.) (Fox Spirit Books)
The Tenth Black Book of Horror, Charles Black (ed.) (Mortbury Press)

Best Small Press
The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

Best Non-Fiction
Gestalt Real-Time Reviews, D.F. Lewis
Doors to Elsewhere, Mike Barrett (The Alchemy Press)
Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin (ed.)
Speculative Fiction 2012, Justin Landon and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London)
“We Have Always Fought”: Challenging the “Women, Cattle and Slaves” Narrative, Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of Ink)

Best Magazine/Periodical
Black Static, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
Clarkesworld, Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace (ed.) (Wyrm Publishing)
Interzone, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
Shadows & Tall Trees, Michael Kelly (ed.) (Undertow Books)

Best Comic/Graphic Novel
Demeter, Becky Cloonan (Becky Cloonan)
Jennifer Wilde, Maura McHugh, Karen Mahoney and Stephen Downey (Atomic Diner Comics)
Porcelain, Benjamin Read and Chris Wildgoose (Improper Books)
Rachel Rising, Terry Moore (Abstract Studio)
Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
The Unwritten, Mike Carey and Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best Artist
Adam Oehlers
Ben Baldwin
Daniele Serra
Joey Hi-Fi
Tula Lotay
Vincent Chong

Best Film/Television Episode
Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor, Steven Moffat (BBC)
Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)
Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón and Jonás Cuarón (Warner Bros)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro (Warner Bros)
Iron Man 3, Drew Pearce and Shane Black (Marvel Studios)

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)
Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice (Orbit)
Emma Newman, for Between Two Thorns (Angry Robot)
Francis Knight, for Fade to Black (Orbit)
Laura Lam, for Pantomime (Strange Chemistry)
Libby McGugan, for The Eidolon (Solaris)
Samantha Shannon, for The Bone Season (Bloomsbury)

The winners of these awards will be decided by the previously announced juries, while the British Fantasy Society committee has the honour of deciding the winner of the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award). The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2014 in York on the 6th or 7th of September 2014, depending on the convention’s scheduling.

And, finally, I’d like to add a huge congratulations to Fantasy-Faction’s many friends who appear on the list of nominees. There are too many to name (literally, it’d be quicker to just copy and paste the list again!), but I’m proud of each and every one of you. Best of luck all!



  1. Avatar Jared says:

    Woohoo! Congratulations!

  2. Avatar Jonny_Anonymous says:

    Aww yea

Leave a Comment