The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden – Spoiler Free Review

The Winter of the Witch

New Release Review

Seraphina’s Lament by Sarah Chorn – Cover Reveal + Excerpt

Seraphina’s Lament

Cover Reveal + Excerpt!

Fantasy-Faction’s Best Fantasy Books of 2018

Fantasy-Faction's Best Fantasy Books of 2018

Winner's Announced!


Twilight’s Dawn by Anne Bishop

Twilight’s Dawn by Anne Bishop
Book Name: Twilight’s Dawn
Author: Anne Bishop
Publisher(s): Roc
Formatt: Hardcover / Paperback / Audio Book / eBook
Genre(s): Dark Fantasy
Release Date: March 1, 2011

Editor’s Note: If you’re offended or triggered by sexuality, fictional genitalia, discussion of rape, childbirth, or murder, I do NOT recommend you read this novel (or any novel of this series).

I began reading Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels series in approximately 2000. For over a decade, I have followed the adventures of Daemon, Jaenelle, Lucivar and Saetan, and I have come to love them and love their universe with a fierce passion. Every time I re-read the beginning trilogy (and I have read them in excess of ten times), I remember things I had forgotten about the characters and I fall in love with them all over again.

Twilight’s Dawn feels like the end of an era. While I have not found any indication that this will be Bishop’s last foray into the Black Jewels universe, it reads as though everything has been wrapped up at the end of the last story, and the reader is given closure to the series. Main characters died, new ones were born, some were married, and some faded away to become nothing but a whisper in the Darkness. Sad, to see a series full of life come to an end.

As a whole, I enjoyed this set of stories quite a bit. This book is as Dreams Made Flesh was; a collection of short stories that wrapped up a few loose ends. We discovered what happened to Falonar in the second story; his character was in a book or two, and then we never heard from him again. The story he was in made me appreciate the main characters and their code of honor more, and showed me that there is no such thing as shades of honor. Lucivar, as usual, plays an unforgettable role as an unshakable man with rock hard convictions… And he’s willing to kill anyone who defies the laws of protocol. All around, an amazing story that gives the reader more insight into such a hard character.

The first story in the novel, Winsol Gifts, is basically a warm, fuzzy story about the winter holidays with the family. Daemon learns a useful lesson about how to hide breakable gifts from small, overactive and excitable children, and gives a wonderful gift to his mother. Saetan stays out of the festivities, but shares a last dance with the daughter of his soul. All in all, a sweet, quiet story revolving around family dynamics and give-and-take.

The third story, Family, is just what it sounds like it might be about; the family. A tragedy rocks Saetan’s world, and he must help a woman dear to his heart rebuild her life after she loses a part of herself. The culprit, a Warlord simply known as No Face, must be brought to justice before he can strike again. Many of the stories in this novel are about protocol, honor and the integrity of the people; this one is no exception.

The fourth and final story, The High Lord’s Daughter, isn’t quite what I expected. This story wraps up the series quite nicely, managing to bring the storyline full circle from where Daughter of the Blood began so long ago. Daemon has a daughter, and learns the same lessons Saetan had to learn with Jaenelle. While sometimes difficult, the lessons tend to be bittersweet, reminding Daemon of a time only a few decades before, with a girl bearing the same name as his daughter. This story has an overall feeling of melancholy to it; perhaps this was my own feeling as a reached the end of the book, though.

As a whole, I enjoyed this book. I was given more insight into some of my favorite characters, and I made some new favorites as the stories progressed. Of course, I am sad that it looks as though this may be the end of the series. I would love for more novels and stories from this universe, but I am not sure there are any more stories to tell. After a decade of magic, love, and beauty, it may finally be time to let the Lady sleep. If that is the case, I believe Bishop has gone out on a strong note, with a very natural conclusion to an amazing series.



  1. ibeeeg says:

    I am now curious about this series. Very curious. I have not read anything by Anne Bishop, but from what you say, I think that I would like her stories. This series is being jotted down for future reading. Thanks.

  2. Moonshine says:

    I would like to have known more about the series as a whole – I am unsure as to who the characters you mention are, or even the basic premise, and would like to know more…

  3. Zarose says:

    Thank you for this review! It’s by far one of the most concise i’ve read so far. I’m allready a huge fan of Bishop and have been waiting years for this book. I think you did a wonderful job toughing on the key points of each story without giveing too much away. Looking forward to seeing more reviews from you!

    • Kit says:

      Thank you, Zarose; that was pretty much the whole point. I didn’t want to give away too much to those who hadn’t read the series, but for those who have and hadn’t read this one yet… Well, I’m glad to know it makes sense. 🙂

  4. Jo Warne says:

    I am definitely going to check out this series! thanks for your review 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    As soon as I began to read your review, I knew instantly you were a fellow fan. I read words that I had expressed myself several times. You really emanate your love for this series and this book. Well done

Leave a Comment